I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 11, 2017 - 11:30 a.m.

The Budgiedome by Gaslight

Not only have I not done interesting since Falcon Ridge I have no time to as I spend all my time responding to Facebook alerts. It's all talk about Falcon Ridge. Let's see how many alerts I got just in the time it took me to open Word and write this much, seven. I'm making progress posting my pictures but I'm way behind in seeing other people's. I have therapy today I should do something after that. I'll check my calendar after I write. If I look now I'll fall down the Facebook hole.

Yesterday's dinner is worth talking about. It was my first real cooking since the Festival, not that it took much effort. I made Buffalo wings and mashed potatoes. Paul gave me Frank's hot sauce for my birthday. I was good and finished off the Trader Joe's sauce but added Frank's too. The secret that Paul taught me is to add some olive oil to the mix. Paul is from Buffalo so he is an authority. I didn't do anything special but I made but the chicken and potatoes perfect. I might not be the best cook in the world but I cook exactly what I like, the way I like it. That's foreshadowing.

Most of my friends go to the dance tent for the Slambovians Land of 1000 Dances. I was tempted this year as Sharkey couldn't make it and he was replaced by Pete and Maura Kennedy! You know how much I love Pete and Maura. The problem is that the Slambovians in the dance tent gives me a headache. It's very crowded, loud, and filled with a mysterious smoke. I would still have gone if one of my must-see bands, The Gaslight Tinkers weren't on the main stage. There is so much music at Falcon Ridge that I can't go into my usual analysis of every act. I generally don't dissect the music at all, but I'll make one exception for the Tinkers as I thought of new things. I think I've known them for about two years but they still have new band smell. There's always the worry, will they be as good as I remember? With the Tinkers the answer is no, they are better. I want to host a world music festival where they are the only act. They play everything. The two strongest veins are American Trad and Caribbean, but they are all over the world. Whatever they play they make their own, you must hear their reggae version of Woody Guthrie's I Ain't Got No Home. They are filled with joy and energy and musicianship and should become Falcon Ridge staples. Next year I see them on the dance stage., I said that last year too. I say lots of things.

I stayed at Main Stage for Rani Arbo & daisy mayhem. I have to tell you my obligatory Rani story. For years I avoided her as I had her confused with some act that I didn't like. There is some male/female duo out there that I don't like, I thought the man was Rani and the woman Daisy. The truth is Rani is a woman and daisy her band. Not only do I like them but they are right in my wheelhouse. Instead of a band to avoid they are a band that I don't see often enough. I told Rani the story after her set.

I should post pictures but in the interest of saving time I'll just give a link to the album; it also has the pictures from Friday afternoon, Falcon Ridge 2017 Friday.

I don't like when performers I like play the Friday Night Song Swap as I have to go up to the Budgiedome to set up for the evening's music. This year the swap was Rob MacDonald, Abbie Gardner, David Massengill, and Joe Crookston. I was very unhappy. We can hear perfectly fine from the top of the hill but there are distractions. The Budgiedome had people I loved in it. It would be nice if I remembered who they were.

I was told that the Friday night Budgiedome session was one of the best ever. Who am I to argue? Here's who played.

Heather Aubrey Lloyd with David Glaser
Pesky J. Nixon with Quarterhorse
The Gaslight Tinkers
Miles and Mafale
Ryanhood
The End of America
Mike Laureanno
The Whispering Tree
When I book the Budgiedome it's just like when I cook for myself. It's not just great music, but great music that connects with me. I only do two nights a year and I don't want to waste it. It's not enough to be good, the acts have to be special. Who is special is to some degree subjective. That's where it gets personal. As others said the lineup was great it's not all in my head. I should make a YouTube playlist of the artists in the order they played.

There was some new Budgiedome blood, Ryanhood, the End of America, and The Whispering Tree. They are all on the gentle harmony side. I hate saying that as I'm afraid you'll have images of kumbaya. I wouldn't love them if they just sounded pretty. Their sounds are beautiful but there's substance, humor, and teeth. Ryanhood even did an instrumental. They are my people.

Do I need to say that Heather, PJN, and Miles & Mafale are my people? Pesky is as close as the Budgiedome has to a house band. As Bri said, "It isn't Falcon Ridge without Pesky."

Mike is, well Mike. He played with Jack Hardy for years. Imagine someone with Jack's righteous indignation but with a sweet voice and gentle manner. Mike has a mouthful of sharp teeth.

Sitting in the Budgiedome with my friends and performers that I love is my natural habitat.

Here are my Friday Budgiedome Photos. I can't afford one but I'd like a better camera, one more effective at low light. I used to use a flash in the Budgiedome but I won't do that anymore.

Now I have to eat and get ready for therapy. Only two more days of Falcon Ridge and the trip home to cover.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 11, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!