I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 07, 2015 - 3:29 p.m.

Free Association Not Singing "Windy"

I will start with a startling new observation I just made; I am an idiot. I slept late and decided to hold off writing till after I ate then forgot to write. My mother would say, "If your head wasn't attached to your shoulders you'd forget where you put it." Why don't I say that to people? It's totally ingrained in me? Oh right, that applies very well to me but not my friends. My friends have brains. Now if only they would use them for good instead of evil. Evil being liking Dawes and Taylor Swift. That was teasing Dan from The Lords of Liechtenstein. But it reminds me that I was thinking about why Taylor Swift is an omen of the apocalypse. Yesterday there was an article in the NY Times, For Taylor Swift and Drake, Friends Serve the Brand. Now this is not Ms. Swift or Drake's fault but there is this long article on their careers with no real mention of the music. It was all about marketing and manufacturing identities. That's not where the focus should be. And that made me think how Taylor Swift entered my consciousness. I knew the name, I mean I don't live in a bubble, and Carey explained when I asked that some strangely dressed preadolescent girls were not in costumes but trying to look like Taylor Swift. But her music was of the go in one ear out the other sort till some friends posted a parody of "22" and I felt I needed to hear the original to get the joke. My response was "The only difference between "22" and Rebecca Black's "Friday" is production values. It had the same robotic autotune and paint by the numbers construction. On the other hand Taylor, no longer Ms. Swift, is exceedingly beautiful and exceedingly rich and I hear is not a bad person so if she wants to come to Gordonpalooza tonight and ask to marry me I might be inclined to say yes. She'll be OK with me missing her shows to hear good music won't she? I mean she's not unreasonable, she doesn't want to eat my eyes. If you can't get all my jokes don't feel bad, neither can I.

So I see that today is starting off as a free association kind of entry. That actually has a purpose. Yes a great deal of good writing is planning and construction but sometimes it's right to plan on not planning. This is my blog, it's supposed to reveal what's going on inside my head and that's pretty much what the inside of my head looks like; well figuratively. It's totally dark inside my head so it doesn't look like anything. And where would you fit your eyes in there? Taylor Swift did not eat them.

I spent another day at home yesterday. This is getting bad. My foot was not hurting so I would have gone out with sufficient motivation but didn't see anything I wanted to do. That is until I saw on Instagram that Stephanie Jenkins and Mimi LaValley were doing a duo show at Pete's Candy Store. The problem was I didn't see that till it was too late to get there on time. So my outing for the day was going to Trader Joe's. I did my job as a shill; as I was getting my chocolate truffles a woman reached for them the pulled her arm back. Then she asked me if they were any good and I told her they were great. She bought them and said, "I'm getting too many sweets." I let her know there are never too many.

I then watched the last two episodes of Blake's 7. I don't want to give anything away but the series finale is like no other that I've seen. I was going to turn it off but YouTube switches automatically to the next video. I didn't know there was another Blake video but there was; "the Making of Blake's 7." It is one of the very best making of documentaries I've seen. It isn't at all pretentious or contrived. It starts with cast members and creative team reading bad reviews and letters about the show. What makes it great is that the cast and crew are so likable and genuine and silly. Well all but the costumer who is pretentious but I loved the costumes on the show and she said some interesting if pretentious things. The actors' reactions to the costumes were even more fun. So if you are a fan of the series go watch that The Making of Blake's 7.

Hey it looks like I'm not going to dip into my "Diary Ideas" today, so I won't be pretentious. I once wrote here that I'm not going to be afraid of sounding pretentious and write what's on my mind but I still am afraid.

I am thinking of writing about being insecure about how people feel about me. I am always thinking of writing about that. I was recently talking about that with a friend who was baselessly insecure about the way I feel about him or her. Yes I know I'm supposed to just say "her" according to the Wise Madness style manual but I can't expect you to actually know that. I need to remind you more often, all people of known gender get female pronouns to make up of centuries where the common practice was to do the opposite. But back to being insecure. So today is Gordonpalooza about as big an ego boost as I can get but unfortunately so many of my best friends can't make it. So now I'm insecure about how it will go.

Usually I sign off talking about what I'm going to eat for breakfast but I already had breakfast, sausageeggandcheese on a bagel. I know you'd have been disappointment if you didn't know. But on the other hand Wesley gave some very good advice to Inigo Montoya that I have taken to heart.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 07, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!