I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 07, 2015 - 9:38 a.m.

Food Glorious Food

I have to rush this. I'm meeting a friend for coffee a 11:00. I chose the time. why did I choose so early when I have to eat and write first? There are two possibilities. Either I was trying to force some discipline on myself or I'm an idiot. We all know I'm an idiot It' 9:10 and I'm writing. That is a good thing.

Now if I knew what to write about things would be easier. At least I don't have to spend time making breakfast. Yesterday I made pancakes and I'll have the leftovers today. One batch is really enough for three days but I always eat them in two. The best thing about leftover pancakes is that I put the syrup on then put them in the microwave so I get hat syrup with no extra effort. I nuke just the syrup the first day. The effort is cleaning the measuring cup.

I made a trek up to my mailbox yesterday expecting important mail but all that was there was my Bridge magazine. From there I went to Heather's house for dinner. I usually do the cooking when I'm over there. She accidentally bought boneless chicken thighs. I did that once and didn't like how they came out. I don't know how I cooked them then because these came out great. I made them just like I make cutlets. I coated them in oil then put on a variety of seasonings, Emeril's essence, garlic powder, ginger, and something meant for burgers Then I pan grilled them. That I can usually time perfectly and I did. They were so juicy and tasty. I will now do this regularly as thighs are cheaper than breasts. One more piece of prep, pounding the meat. Heather doesn't have a meat mallet so I used the heel of my hand. I kept them in the zip lock bag when I did that.

Today's WfUV is songs about food. Maybe that's why I'm writing about food. Maybe it's because I always write about food.

Last night was my first time talking to Heather's new roommate Ellen. I like her. She's from Memphis, we talked about barbecue. Yes I'm keeping to the food theme.

Here are the food songs I suggested for the QotD.

  • "Johnny Saucep'n" - Moxy Fruvous
  • "Butter" - The Four Bitchin' Babes
  • "Food" - Deirdre Flint
  • "Sunday Breakfast with Christine" - Christine Lavin
  • "The Bacon Adoration" - The Bumper Adoration

I pointed out on the QotD group that I've cooked for Früvous, eaten Christine's cooking and split pizza with Deirdre at my house. All my relationships with people revolve around food. Food likes me.

It was very cold yesterday. It's going to be colder tonight. I liked that. I get to wear my arctic clothing. Yesterday I had on my silk long johns, a wool sweater, my super warm parker, and my Nepalese wool hat and mittens. You can remove the fingers from the mittens so you can use your fingers and your cell phone. Oh and I wore my wool thermal socks and insulated winter boots. I got to be perfectly warm when it was in the teens. My legs feel warmer when it's in the low twenties and I'm wearing the silk than when it's in the high forties and I'm not. Yet I'm perfectly comfortable when inside. Thermasilk underwear is amazing. When I'm back on my financial feet I'll buy silk undershirts.

OK I'm in a rush so I'm not going to stretch this out. This is a half size edition of Wise Madness


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 07, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!