I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 12, 2017 - 11:11 a.m.

There's More to Life that Falcon Ridge

Oh no, I did things yesterday and I'm not finished writing about Falcon Ridge. Nobody ever said a blogger's life was easy, I will meet the challenge.

Friday means therapy; I enjoy therapy; Do most people? I told my therapist that I told My Gentle Readers that she enjoys our sessions too much. She tried to go stone-faced but I told her not to as I like the ego boost. That's part of what's nice with therapy, I can get away with being conceited and the therapist sees it as self-esteem. It's hard to judge how others feel about themselves, there are social conventions most of us feel constrained by. We feel uncomfortable when people boast too much but also when they run themselves down. I do a lot of self-deprecatory humor here, well everywhere, but I also try and be honest so you can at least see how I feel about myself. I was going to say that I'm not much of a benchmark of normal but who knows? I have little idea of how other people view themselves. I go into it with a few very good friends but most are wary of opening up.

After therapy, I resurrected an old tradition, therapy food. I went to Carvel and got the Reese Cup Dasher Sundae. Give it a try, it's amazing. I only do it when I have lots of time to kill waiting for the train. Carvel is across the street from the Harrison train station.

After Carvel, I didn't come straight home but went into the City for Free Music Fridays at the American Folk Art Museum. I had no idea who was playing; I was relying on Lara Ewen, the series curator's, good taste. The timing was good, I arrived maybe one song into the first of the three-artist's set. The Museum is a few blocks from my school and my PO Box. While I was teaching it was my default Friday plan and would often listen to one act before going to my evening plans. This might be the first time I made a special trip when I didn't know who was performing. It turns out I was fortunate; the series is off for the next month. I could have arrived and found no music.

I have rarely seen it so crowded, there were no seats. I had hurt my knee earlier so I didn't want to stand. I ended up sitting against a wall. I thought I saw Mya on the other side of the room but I knew that couldn't be as she lives in Berkley. I'm blind and often miss people I know or think I see friends that aren't there.

When the first act ended, I got up and went to see if I could find a seat, I didn't, I found Mya. She was in town. We got to catch up. I had what I think of as an archetypal Mya moment. She got all excited over this Jewish coffee shop in Chelsea that I've never heard of where they have "real" bagels. I love that enthusiasm over bagels and food. Mya changed her name, the coast she lives on, and even her gender, but she's still a Jewish kid from New Jersey. I think there's something profound about that. People are capable of profound change but that doesn't mean everything changes. Some things stay with us our entire lives. Show me a dinosaur and I get excited just like I did when I was five.

There are three acts each Free Music Friday, the third one, Joshua Garcia, was the standout. He doesn't have a website so I can't point you to it. he doesn't have CDs so I can't say to listen to them. I can say that if you have a chance to see him don't miss it. He has a DJ showcase at NERFA this year. I'm going to see if I can help him get some more. If you are hosting a showcase expect to hear from me. He is not a singer/songwriter, he's a folk singer. His voice is far my mellifluous but his style and subject matter are reminiscent of young Bob Dylan. He even has the head of curly hair. I love discovering new music out of the blue like that. There was no buzz, no expectations, he just impressed the hell out of me.

I resisted buying dinner in the City and headed straight home. I figured I'd make a burger and fries but when I walked in Jane told me that our neighbor Mark brought us lasagna so I ate that. How did I go my entire live not like lasagna or pasta? Now I love it. Somehow it went from feeling like I had tasteless plastic in my mouth to being delicious.

I'm going to take a break and not write about Falcon Ridge now. Maybe I'll write a second post later. I know I won't but it helps if I lie to myself like that. I'm not going to write about North Korea either. I have many thoughts on it but not much expertise. I'll give just one observation. In Star Trek III: The Search for Spock they talked about the Kobayashi Maru scenario. It's a simulation they give the cadets in Starfleet Academy. The point is that there is no way to win. The point is to teach the cadets that there are situations like that. The real world is like that. It's especially true of international crises. People can't accept that, they blame the president for when things work out poorly whether through action or inaction. Trump is now blaming Obama. I'm pretty sure that the course that Trump is taking is not the best but there's a good chance that there's no good outcome possible, just a least bad one.

OK. Now for breakfast. I have too many things I want to eat. Trader Joe's grits are back, they are far better than the Quaker Oats I usually buy. I want to have them but I always want my basic sausageeggandcheese. I'll find out what I'm eating when I get to the kitchen.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 12, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!