I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me โ€” that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter โ€” except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 31, 2016 - 5:53 p.m.

Harvey! (Not the Rabbit)

My Memorial Day plan was to walk around and explore City Island. It wasn't the most exciting plan but I didn't have anything else to do. As I was finishing yesterday's exciting edition of Wise Madness, Orpheus in Manhattan I happened to notice that Marti's husband Daniel posted on Facebook that they had an extra ticket to the Met game and wanted to know if anyone wanted to go and could meet them there. I did a quick calculation if I could make a 1:15 and said yes on FB but then to make sure called Marti. I raced to post Wise Madness in time to catch the next bus out of Dodge, well City Island. As I got to the bus stop I realized that they are coming from Connecticut, if they are driving they'd pass right by. I called and caught them right after they passed the exit. They turned around and picked me up. That made things even better!

Last season was the first since 1980 that I didn't go to a Met game. I love baseball games. I miss it so much. I was excited and I got to hang with Marti and Daniel and their friend Elisa? Alisa? I'm close. They picked her up in Queens not far from where I used to live. That was nostalgic.

We got to City Field about half an hour before game time. I got right into the routine. I got my free designated driver soda. I got a hot dog and fries and I took my seat on the field level in left field. We were quite close, row 5, that's not the front row. There are rows in front of row 1. Not sure who you have to have sex with to sit there; probably Mr. Met.

The Mets starter against the White Sox was their "Ace" Matt Harvey. I put ace in quotes as he was supposed to be the ace but this season he has been terrible. His ERA was over 6. H hadn't made it to the seventh inning in any start. The third time through the lineup he was terrible. He had lost velocity and apparently command. He wasn't throwing the ball by the batters. Noah Syndergaard is now the ace and Jacob deGrom close behind.

So what did Harvey do? He was perfect for four and two thirds innings. He ended up giving two hits, one walk, and no runs in seven full innings. He struck out 6. He was throwing the ball by people and they made very little good contact. It was vintage Harvey. Clearly he saw that I wasn't at games and felt unloved. Seeing me in the stands inspired him. I'm just like Glenn Close in The Natural. The Mets should pay me to go to the games that Harvey pitches. I think one fifth of the MLB minimum salary of $507,500 would be fair. I of course would get a plus one to every game. What do you think the best way for me to approach the team with my offer would be? Maybe I should just make a private deal with Harvey. I'll take your suggestions and report back if I get the position.

As for the Mets offense, Neil Walker hit a solo home run. You can thank Marti for that. It happened when she got up to get water so she missed it. I told Dan we shouldn't let her back in her seat. He was a softy and let her pass. After seven innings the Mets led 1 โ€“ 0. Could the Mets relievers hold that lead? Addison Reed pitched a scoreless eighth but the question was, who would pitch the ninth. The Mets closer Jeurys Familia had blown the last two games. Would they bring him back for the third straight day? Even if he had done well they might not have used him in a day game following a night game. But Terry Collins called Familia's number and he closed down the ChiSox with no problem. The Mets won! I'm good luck for them.

I'm guessing that our conversations during the game were not quite like others people's. The Wallace Line came up in conversation between me and Marti. We wondered how many other people in the stadium had ever heard of it. I said 100% of the people who we can determine if they know it know it, both of us, so therefore the best estimate was that everyone did. Marti didn't think that was the proper use of statistics. I agree with her but I'll never admit it. So how many of my Gentle Readers know what if is? If you do just comment on Facebook saying you know what it is. Don't give the answer. As for the rest of you? That's what Google is for.

Marti, Daniel, and Elisa were going to see the Captain America movie but as I don't see well I bowed out and took the subway home. That worked out easily. I took the "Super Express" to Grand Central and had no wait for the then not much of a wait for the bus.

I had a pretty terrific Memorial Day, Thank you Dan and Marti.

Today's been a bit odd. I had quite a bit of general anxiety. It wasn't anxious about things; I was just anxious. I've been fine writing this but a bit just came back thinking about. I'll tell the psychiatrist next time I see him.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 31, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!