I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 13, 2017 - 10:47 a.m.

Battling Dinosaurs

I'm trying something different today, writing to classical music. I should do this more often, instrumentals are better to work to. It would help if I remembered what I wanted to write about. My mind was active last night with ideas. The problem is that when I get like that I don't want to stop and write it down. I need to remember after my mind stops racing.

I could write about my day. I never got dressed but I did leave the house. That's an advantage of living on City Island, you can get away with that. I had to run to the store to get a garlic bulb. It's just a block and a half away and the weather was warm, so I just put on shoes, over my slipper socks, and a warmer hoodie than I wear inside and walked over. I wish it were socially acceptable to always wear sweats. This is how I'm comfortable. Einstein did that most of the time in his later years. You might have noticed in in pictures. One difference from me; he didn't wear socks and I love my warm fuzzy slipper socks. He could get away with it, he was Einstein. Sad to say, people don't recognize me as the world's greatest genius. It's so unfair.

Last night, with Jane's help I did one of the scary things I had to do. I found out I missed the deadline. Fear of that is part of what made it scary. I know intellectually the consequences and what's best for me but the reptile brain isn't hearing any of it. It's a fight between me and T-Rex. I won last night by doing it. I must win again today to take the next step. I missed a deadline but that just means I have more hoops to jump through. They are scary fiery hoops. Dolphins and lions do it all the time. I'm pretty sure that they don't do that in the wild. Anyone know a good lion tamer willing to branch out into people training? On second thought I, don't want the gun and whip. How about a horse whisperer?

I did something I'm proud of in music networking. I did what I do, I put A together with B. I love A and I love B. I think it will be a great fit and be good for both them and the audience. I know it will be good for me.

I did something else that made me feel good yesterday, I made dinner for Bernie and Jane; my world-famous sausage, potato, and garlic soup. I haven't made that since last winter. Trader Joe's didn't have the sweet sausages I wanted, I used Andouille. I love those but they are quite hot. That's fine for me but I try to be more conservative with other people. To compensate I didn't use cayenne pepper, I spiced it with jerk and Italian seasoning instead. I wish I had bought some cumin. That's great in the soup. Still It came out yummy and filling. Too bad it was the warmest day of winter. It's extra good when it's cold outside.

I have a suggestion for dealing with Trump, ignore his tweets, he does. They are not policy statements; they are pure id. Most of us just keep those thoughts to ourselves. If we do tweet them nobody cares. By giving them so much attention we let him control the agenda. We talk about him, not substance. He attacked Hillary yesterday. That's not news. We can't let him distract us. We must keep our eyes on the ball. He said that only reporters care about releasing his tax returns. That's patently false; polls show most the public does. We shouldn't take the pressure of him. He's made terrible choices for the cabinet. We must focus our attention on that. We need to pressure every Republican in a swing district or state and let them know that their job is on the line. I should write a letter to the Times about this. It's something new and journalists are figuring out how to deal with it on the fly.

I just remembered what I was thinking about last night. I put it in my ideas bin. I don't want to throw too much at you in one entry. I added a second topic to the list.

This is an old-school edition of Wise Madness, less than 800 words. No need to stretch things. Is today a grits day? Maybe, I'll decide in the kitchen.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 13, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!