I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 25, 2017 - 4:19 p.m.

Doctor Who and the Misogynists

My Word normal template got corrupted again so I lost most of my macros. That makes writing so much more difficult. I'll soldier through and write this; it will build character.

I was foolish and stayed home yesterday. It had a choice of live music last night and heard none of it. I have nothing on the schedule for today. I have nothing for the week. There's one show I know I want to see but can't afford. I'm waiting back to hear if I can do merch and get comped.

I watched Captain America: The Winter Soldier last night. I really should have watched the Marvel films in order. I'm getting all the story lines jumbled in my head. Do I have to watch Civil War and the first season of Agents of SHEILD again?

Our house has been invaded by flies. Somewhere eggs were laid and hatched and now the air is thick with them. We put my fly strips but they are quickly filled. I think I need to buy many more and give them no place safe to fly. One looked a lot like David Hedison and I could swear it said, "Help me" On the bright side they aren't mosquitoes.

The Fios tech is here. We had Fios installed on Wednesday and the guy placed the router in the far corner of downstairs so the signal barely reached upstairs where I am. I couldn't figure out what he was thinking but now I know. He put it near the TV set so he saved himself some work running cables. I wasn't home at the time or I'd have had him put it at the top of the stairs where the old router was, then it can reach both floors. Right now, I have no internet so I'll forego posting more pictures from the party. As an extra challenge, there's a pile driver pounding away as I write. I could close the window but then it would get hot. Temporary respite. Let's see what I can write while it's quiet enough to sleep.

I'm going to tackle one of the divisive issues that is tearing apart not just the country but the world, the new female Doctor Who. Is this the end of civilization? Will the Daleks triumph? Is this some plot of The Master/Missy? No. I could just leave it at that but there are elements I want to discuss.

It's been obvious that this was coming for a while; once the possibility of Timelords changing sex entered the mythology it was inevitable. I knew that from the second we met Missy. Then they mentioned other Timelords become Timeladies. Anyone surprised by this was not paying attention. I was unhappy with the concept of sex switching Timelords. After all these years it would have come up before. The Timelord social structure would be totally different than that of races that don't change sex including people I suspect it just would never evolve. There are sex switching species of animals but none of the pair bond. A Timelord couple gets married, one partner changes sex, that's it for having children. That's a difficult argument to overcome.

Don't tell me that I'm thinking about it too much. Half the fun of science fiction and fantasy is thinking about it that much. I can live with this though as the argument is difficult but not impossible to overcome though I hope they just ignore it. I'm not going to believe any explanation they come up with.

The people outraged are just misogynists. They would be unhappy with a series about Ramona's adventures. I have been waiting for that for over thirty years. I'd love a show about Me and Clara, the two best reboot companions.

Will they give her a male companion? People forget that the Doctor/companion that had the most episodes was The Second Doctor and Jamie McCrimmon. Jamie was there for the Second Doctor's entire run. There aren't many episodes extant from that era but those I've seen are among the best. The Second Doctor was a small and not very physical. When acts of physical prowess were needed that was Jamie's job. The Third Doctor was a master of Venusian Karate (sometimes jujitsu) and since then most Doctors have been more athletic. It would be nice if they took advantage of a female Doctor to return to that. They won't as people would think it sexist. But it does allow the next Doctor, who should be male as it's established the most regenerations are of the same sex, was in contrast physically frail and had a fighter companion.

I have Wi-Fi! I have a strong signal! Huzzah! Now I can switch to the high frequency faster bit rate band. The piledriver is back. Make it stop. It didn't; thanks for nothing.

Peter Capaldi won me back over to loving Doctor Who. I hope it continues with the new Doctor and the one after her. Loving Doctor Who is part of my self-image. When I don't love it, who am I? Do I still love Tolkien? How about chocolate? How can I be sure of anything?

Now back to my birthday. I forgot one important thing from the party. I titled the invitation and FB event, My Birthday LX. Some people mocked that but Elisa said, "I like the LX, it's like the Super Bowl." Yes! That is exactly what I was thinking when I named it.

Now for some pictures, some I left out the yesterday and some I didn't get till after I posted. All the pictures are by Bev, Bob, Katherine, and Marti


Who says I'm old?


Cute girls flanked by cute boys


I told you there was music


Speaking of Humpty Dumpty and we were


Look up in the sky!
I neglected to post a pic of Mark, guy in the cap, yesterday


They are waiting for Godot


I'm breaking out


Don't jump!


It's the Black Fleet!


Eyeing little girls with bad intent


The Allisoni are enjoying each other's conversation.
Meanwhile I borrowed Alfred Hitchcock's body

You saw some of these pictures before but without the clever captions. Who just said, "I still didn't see any clever captions?" It's so hard being me.

Now for an exciting trip to Home Depot or someplace else I can get a fly-killing arsenal.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 25, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!