I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 13, 2015 - 11:47 a.m.

A Few of My Favorite Things

Not sure what I'm going to write about today. As always I'll start with what I did. Well it was Monday so I had therapy. It went easier than my last few sessions. I'm not sure that's a good thing. I did have trouble getting there on time. I did it but with only a minute to spare. A whole series of things happened as I was getting to leave.

I tried something different with my bagels. Usually I buy a dozen but they don't give a baker's dozen so there's no reason to do that. I bought 7, a week's worth. They were actually hot so ate one immediately. Happiness is a hot bagel.

Then as I often do after therapy I went to Heather's for dinner. She cooked. It was good. It's nice eating home cooking with someone. There have been times I've gone months eating every meal alone. I know I've complained about it here as it was happening.

I had trouble deciding what to wear it was in the thirties and raining when I left. I went for rain gear. My trench coat keeps me dry but is not quite warm enough. My sweaters would be too warm. So I opted for this.

That's my official The Lords of Liechtenstein sweater vest. Yes I went out in public like that. My therapist did not have me committed.

OK instead of writing the deep economic analysis of the traditional acceptance of women into only a few professions, that will come another time, I'll continue in the direction I just started on. Pictures of stuff I own that I fine incredibly useful but everyone doesn't own. No I don't mean the sweater vest, nobody should own one of those, but the cool Irish Tweed hat. This is what I was wearing outside taken on a different day.

A trench coat and hat is the best way to dress in the rain. When it's not raining too hard I don't even need an umbrella. It's practical. it keeps me dry. I know enough to come in out of the rain. The trench coat was a gift from Aiden.

But the problem is my shoes. You walk around in the rain and your shoes and feet get soaked and you have to be so careful where you walk. Sure you can wear rain boots but then you are stuck wearing them when you get inside. What' the solution? What everyone wore when I was a kid but I rarely see now, overshoes. These are totes. They slip as the name implies right over your shoes.

That's clothes to keep me dry. Now on to clothes to keep me warm


Slipper Sock


Nepalese hat


Best mittens ever. Also from Nepal


Insulated waterproof boots and thermal wool socks


The silk long johns I always talk about.

That stuff and sweaters and a really good parker are why I never get cold outside.

The next class is festival gear. I'll just show three things

That windbreaker is great. I turn it into a bag and throw it in my backpack and at night as it cools I put it on.

I carry my own shade around. the flap in the back can fold up when it's not quite as hot.

I'd never be comfortable sitting at festival without back support. This gives me that support but keeps me low so I don't block other people's view. It's easy to carry between stages. It's just about perfect and a gift from Katherine.

The next category is cooking gear.


That's a batter bowl. See the measuring lines inside it. It's what I make my pancake batter and omelets in. It makes it easy to pour.


My coffee kit, French press and coffee grinder

The mallet makes the meat more tender. I can buy cheaper cuts of steaks. It also thins out chicken cutlets and makes the thickness more even. The ice cream scoop is clever. the heat of your hand is transferred to the scoop via a fluid so the ice cream is easier to scoop out and don't cling.

Lots of you have a cast-iron skillet but this is a cast-iron grill/griddle. Best thing for making steaks and pancakes.

Finally the thing which inspired this months and months, perhaps years ago. It' the best phone accessory.

That's a portable charger. I charge it up at night and take it with me. It lives in my backpack. Smart phones are not perfected yet. You can't use them all day without running the batter down. With this I don't worry. When it runs low I recharge it. The only flaw was that the USB cable it came with was cheap and broke within weeks. I bought some super cheap ones online and the same thing happened. I got a better one and it lasts.

None of this stuff was expensive. Everything was less than $50 except maybe the charger. I bought that with the phone and don’t remember the cost but I use it almost every day and it's totally worth it. I use everything here frequently and they all significantly improve the quality of my life. I'd much rather have any of them than a $20,000 watch or other luxury bauble. I'm the last person to overvalue things. People are more important and so I mentioned which were gifts from friends. But you know something, things can be good too. Most of my stuff is in storage but these are things I find difficult to live without.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 13, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!