I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 20, 2018 - 12:55 p.m.

Brooklyn for Puerto Rico

I had a lot of choices what to do yesterday; Tara O'Grady had her CD release show, Tracy Grammer was at Rockwood 3, I even had a wedding invitation, Harry & Meghan tied the knot; I sent my regrets, I hope they understand. None of them could take precedence of First Acoustics Tenth Anniversary Show, A Benefit Concert for he People of Puerto Rico. If that was not special, enough it was also Coco & Bruce's 28th Anniversary. This was my musical family.

I told you about the slideshow I made. There were glitches and we couldn't make it work. Oh well. We'll run the video on the website. I'm going to make another one of pictures from last night.

I ended up with a different job, second photographer. Fred roamed the floor with his camera and monopod while I stayed in the mezzanine with the organ and shot with one of his cameras from there. I got the long shots that included the entire stage

The downside of that was not getting to hang with my friends. If I didn't know people, there my first choice would be to sit in the weird perch watching the show alone with an eye in the sky view. The concert was at the sanctuary of the First Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Brooklyn, a beautiful old gothic cathedral. One of the few that was built as a UU. I did get a few visits from Fred and one from Brianna. Before show, and during intermission I mingled. Nobody asked me to but guess what other duty I had during the break; You got it I sold merch. Here's the list of performers

There should be a lot of familiar names; Buskin & Bateau, Sophie Buskin, Bev Grant, Greg Greenway, Miles and Mafale, Tom P-R, Marshal Aaron Rosenberg, Carolann Solebello, and Pat Wictor. They have all played the Budgiedome except for Batteau and the Buskins. The unfamiliar name that rocked my socks was Jose Joaquin Garcia & Rubi. Talk about high energy. They came back for he finally and got the room up and dancing. Everyone was very good.

Two-thirds of Brother Sun was there Pat Wictor and Greg Greenway. Tom P-R joined them when they sang, Pride in the Name of Love. There is no truth to the rumor that Tom was asked to join because they though the P-R stood for Puerto Rico.

I was going to name all my friends there but because I didn't sit with them it's too hard for me to get them organized. I'd forget too many of them. Let's just say that they are many and you've read about them here before.

Mira was there without her car and was nervous about navigating to the subway. She asked me to be her native guide. She was going to Grand Central, so we took the same train. It was nice having company on the subway ride and to get to know her better.

I had a scare. After we couldn't get the computer to output onto the projector Fred thought he might be able to figure it out. We went off to the side, turned on the computer, and I got the error message that it couldn't find my hard drive. I have had this before. It is not seated perfectly. It's still scary. I got home late and didn't plug it in. I went straight to sleep. I then slept late this morning. I didn't run to the computer, but I turned it on because I couldn't disappoint My Gentle Readers. The batter was drained but I had it plugged in and it booted right up.

Such a special day and I didn't have that much to write. Sometimes that happens. My next project is the John Platt's On Your Radar Facebook event. I don't think I can do that until after I've seen the season finale of Agents of Shield. The show has me hooked.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 20, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!