I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 20, 2013 - 12:34 p.m.

Great Day for a Concert, Let's Play Two

I did lots of thing yesterday so I should have an easy time writing. I even have some pictures.

As usual on Monday my first stop was therapy. It actually made me feel better. I realized that despite a huge thing I have not been able to do that I feel guilty about I managed to do other things I find difficult.

I then checked my mailbox but had no mail. I wasn't going to stop at school but it started to rain so I hung out there while it passed. I found out that I'm going to have a new textbook for Tech Math. School starts in two weeks. I don't have a copy of the book yet.

My therapy dinner was Nathans. I have found that a treat since my first time there as a little kid. Sorry but not many things beat Nathan's hot dogs and fries.

I needed something fast as I had a show at Rockwood Music Hall Stage 2 at 7 PM. I also had a show at Rockwood at 9 PM. Have you noticed that I listen to a lot of live music?

The 7 PM was Evan Shinners. This is not my first time hearing him play but it was the first time hearing him play outside of his apartment. He's the guy I subletted the apartment in Spanish Harlem from. When I went in there I saw a clavichord and an accordion, the most stately member of the keyboard court and the jester. I knew he was my kind of person. I have only heard him play Bach in the apartment, on his website he describes himself as a bachstar, I was looking forward to hearing his own compositions. The show was divided into two parts, Bach first then original music.

Evan is a great keyboard player and though I'd have preferred the clavichord did a great job on the Rockwood grand. How often do you get a top notch free baroque concert?

After he performed a few pieces he was joined by friends. The first on the electric guitar and the second on sax.


I wonder if anyone else noticed that all three played instruments that were not invented when Bach composed the pieces. Of course one of my first ten albums was Wendy Carlos's (or was he still Walter) Switched on Bach; Bach on a Moog synthesizer.

Then they switched to the original compositions. So here is Evan who just played divine renditions of Bach, Evan who went to Julliard, about to play his own music. It isn't what you'd expect if you didn't know him. It is not what I expected but it is exactly what I hoped for based on his personality and the fact that he had his accordion. You have to expect deviancy from anyone that plays one, right Jake, Eddie, Deni, and Katherine? The accordion is the queen of corruption. It twists your soul into a pretzel. Remember it was my first instrument.


What Evan writes is pure neuromusic. I texted Carey, "Evan is a neurogod!" What is neuromusic? Like swing if you have to ask you'll never understand it. It is music that creates its own aesthetic as it goes along. It isn't like anything you've heard but you know it's right. To give an example that some of you might know, Fingertips by They Might Be Giants. It just hit me last night much of the White Album particularly Revolution #9 is neuromusic. It is musical LSD that expands the mind. It is glorious. Usually it has weird instruments like tubas, kazoos, and melodicas. But that's not necessary. You can play it on accordion (OK that is weird and typical), guitar and saxophone. I want to see a show with Evan, Toys and Tiny Instruments, and Pi�ataland. The two friends that I know would love Evan are Carey of course and Marti. No it isn't because they are both cute redheads. It's that I know it's where they both live.

I had an hour between shows so I went for more therapy food, a cr�pe. I had my usual, dark chocolate, peanut butter, and halvah. Aren't you happy that you have a friend that calls that his usual?

I discovered an Indian/Nepalese store I hadn't been to before. They had the best singing bowl I ever tried. If someone wants to get me a $150 present let me know.

A little before 9 I was back at Rockwood Stage 1 to see Jean Rohe. This was the third and final week of her residency. Instead of playing with her usual 7-piece End of the World Band these shows were her and a guest. As I pointed out last week it's a great way to show off her songwriting skills and play songs she rarely performs with the band. It's totally different than an End of the World show but still magnificent. Can you tell I'm a bit of a fan? She just earned the ultimate honor, a macro to insert a link to her website. That means I see the act a lot, that's the act, not The Act. Jean is definitely not The Act. Nobody with any sense would accuse her of not making artistic decisions.


Her guest this week was Heather Robb of the Spring Standards. Jean had just met Heather at a songwriting thingamabob in Chicago but I decided that they've known each other since kindergarten. They sat together every year as they were consecutive alphabetically. I reject your reality and substitute my own.


It looks like I'll have to check out the Spring Standards.

Now to eat breakfast. My phone is so bad now I might just have to bite the bullet and spend the money to buy a new good phone.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 20, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!