I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 29, 2013 - 1:09 p.m.

The Eight Amigos

I'm feeling lethargic this morning. I got up at 8 as I often do on Sundays as that's just in time to listen to John Platt. I don't set an alarm, it just happens naturally. I turned it on but didn't start moving. I stayed in bed with my eyes closed and drifted in and out of sleep for the next two hours. When I heard him introduce his guest Dayna Kurtz I knew it was around ten and forced myself to start moving. Last night when I got home I had huge internet problems, more about that later, and fell asleep with the computer on my lap. Now it's 11:15 and I'm listening to Wait Wait Don't Tell Me and writing but could drift right off to sleep if I let myself.

While I remember I'll talk about the internet. You know that I've been having to deal with the Bandwidth Hog who make it almost impossible for me to use the internet. The other day I came home and discovered that my landlady had changed the network and I could not connect. It turned out that she made two networks. I suspect that she made one just for the Bandwidth Hog. I had trouble signing into the new one. I thought router passwords were not case sensitive but this one seemed to be. In nay even things were great till last night,. The Bandwidth hog must have logged into the wrong network. I have strong suspicions who it is.

Yesterday I did a musical double header, the same two venues as my one last Sunday, Madison Square Park and First Acoustics.

Brother Sun played at the park,. I hadn't arranged to do the merch but I thought I might anyway. I don't have to be on a list there so I can find out when I arrive. Before I left I got a text from Lori not LORi who got there more than an hour early. She tried to keep me from coming by texting me that there were no chairs put out. That was a pure line of course. She did it because she hates me. She denies it and says that she loves me but have the proof. I can show you the text. I didn't get there as early as usual because my wheels were spinning and there was no need. I mean there's no seats, what would be the point of being heir early? I arrives at 2:40 around 40 minutes before showtime. Guess what, there were the usual chairs. Lori simply has no shame. She was clearly counting on my not going and not discovering her lie,. How can she hate a sweet guy like me? Fortunately Rona, Bobbi Jo, and Joe, saved me a seat over her protests.

I first had to see if I needed it, If I was marching. I went backstage to talk to Maggi and discovered she wasn't there yesterday. I don't know why but I know it had to be important. I'm pretty sure she told me last week but nobody can seriously expect me to remember things six days later.

I found the band at the Merch Booth and that Ellen, Pat's wife was doing the merch so I got to relax and watch the show as a civilian. I saw with Lori just to show that I love her even though she hates me. Jeff and Karen were sitting on my other side. The front row had my people in it � and Lori.

So this counts as a home game. Odd thing the more successful a band becomes the less I see them. Pat used to be someone that I saw all the time, often in the audience, he lives in Brooklyn but now it's been ages. When was the last time I saw them play? Lori and Rona's school? That could be. I'm pretty sure they had some new songs since the last time. Petty sure because I'm an idiot and could simply not recognize them. There was one that I thought was knew then realized I knew it very well. It's really hard being me.

We didn't stay for the headline act, Luke Winslow. Too bad, that sounded great. But we socialized with Brother Sun then headed off to dinner, We being Joe, Bobby Jo, Rona, Lori who hates me, and me. As this is my turf I said that I'd think of a restaurant. We went to Soup & Burger on Astor and Broadway. I had my usual burger and great malt. On the sad side they don't give you the metal canister with a shake. I thought they did there. We had a classic New York waiter. I like that.

After dinner we went to the Costume store, there a a bunch there but this is the biggest, the one that goes between Broadway and 4th avenue. Not that anybody bought anything. I need something for Halloween. I'm teaching that day. I'm thinking of just attaching a rubber rat to my shoulder. That or go as Perry again.

Then I head to First Acoustics to hear two of my favorite acts, The Amigos Band and Mark Allen Berube. Before the show I had them help me with a lexigraphic conundrum. Amigo Justin and I work a block from each other. We are neighbors at work. That's a common situations. As people work in denser areas than they live even more common that living near each other. But there is no word for it. I aid we needed one and Justin pointed out that it should be a short word. I enlisted Mark to weigh in as he's good at this sort of thing. He came up with Waybor, a portmanteau of Work and Neighbor. Do you like it? The important thing is will you start using it? The most important thing, how can Mark and I monetize this and because billionaires.

Why weren't more of my friends at the show? Coco and Bruce run the place so they were there. And there were the volunteers. Carolann came but she's married to Mark. The only one there without a direct connection was Katherine, who I saw last night, and I thought wasn't coming. Not that' I'm complaining I sat with her. Oh and I marched for the musicians, duh.

Mark made me happy by doing the Carolann trilogy, Girl with the Frankenstein Hair, I Like the Way She Smells, and the one whose name I can never remember about how it's much better sharing a room with her than his brother as she doesn�t torture him. He also did what I think of as my song, Higgs Boson How did I never realize how Gilbert and Sullivan he is? So much of what he does is close to patter songs. He sings incredibly clever lyrics, with big and unusual words, very fast. They are songs that make you think fast.. That's a recipe for me to love them.

The Amigos play serious music with a silly attitude. I like the way they put it they take music and slosh it around all of America and play what comes out. There is no "respect" for styles and genres, but there is respect for the music and what sounds good. They can do an Appalachian song in a Cajun idiom and make it work. Their stage demeanor is totally Dada. The way it hits me is performers acting like they have stage personas while letting you see the real them the entire time. It's sincere insincerity. Whatever they do their love of the material and their love of what they are doing comes through.

They center of the group is the Three 'Amigos, Sam on accordion, Eddie on Sax, and Justin on guitar. They have since added a rhythm section, bass and drums. Eddie wasn't there last night as he's touring with someone else. I would have had doubts about it working without him, he adds so much, but it did. It works because they all have talent to spare so the others just show of more of theirs.

Sorry there are no pics of Mark. I didn't decide to take photos till after his set.

I saw eight men perform today and no woman. That's a lot of testosterone. That's why I sat with women.

OK it's 1 AM and I've written almost 1400 words. I will leave off what's been going on in my head. I'll just say that amidst all these delightful things it isn't good. I pay a therapist to hear this and I'll let her earn her keep and let you My Gentle Readers hear the good stuff.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 29, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!