I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 06, 2016 - 11:44 a.m.

It was Labor Day but Not a Day at the Beach

The human body is a weird thing. After being totally over my reaction to Hydroxyzine yesterday it hit me like a ton of bricks in a new way. Now this morning it's back to making me sleepy. I'm going to try and go about my business, when I'm up and moving it's not as bad.

When I got over the side effects yesterday I went into the City; my primary purpose was to get half-priced bagels at University Bagels. It was a nice plan except they were closed for Labor Day. I am pretty sure it wasn't because I got there too late but it might have been. I also wanted to go to Trader Joe's to get eggs and whatever else suited my fancy. They are much cheaper there than I can get on City Island. Before that I wanted something to eat, I decided to go to Whole Foods. I never went to the one in Union Square, I usually go to the one at Columbus Circle. When I got there and found the restaurant area I discovered they didn't have all the foods that I love uptown. There was nothing at all exciting so I didn't eat there. I ended up to going to my very cheap standby, KFC for their $5 meal.

Then I went to Trader Joe's. I picked up a bunch of stuff then discovered they had no eggs. What the hell? Not a single egg in the store? But they didn't so as I will go back there today I got nothing. There's a new ice cream place on 14th Street. I decided to check them out. All they had were foofoo flavors, another disappointment. I could have walked over to one of the great ice cream places in the area but I was already by the subway station and it was getting late. I drowned my disappointment in donuts. I went into Dunkin' Donuts and ordered a Boston Cream. The guy gave me two, he said it was a Labor Day sale. There was no sign up. He also tried to get friendly. He asked if I lived in the neighborhood and when I said no he asked if I worked there. I don't know what was going on but I liked the free donut. It was the one thing that was not a disappointment.

When I got home I decided to watch TV on my computer and what I found was two pleasant surprises. After finding nothing new and exciting on HBO I went to Amazon Prime and discovered a new tab, "Free shows." It's probably not new but I had never noticed it. They had the first season of the Dick Van Dyke Show. I watched the first episode. That might be the only free one. The show was still finding out what it was. It didn't even have the famous opening of tripping on the ottoman. The writing wasn't as crisp and the characters not as distinctive as they became. It was struck by how sexist it was. But still, it was Dick Van Dyke and that's a good thing. Then when I went to my Watch List I found that Season 9 of Doctor Who was finally free with Amazon Prime! Yes, I still have issues with the new show but I've made my peace with them. I just have to accept that every show either the fate of the entire universe is at stake or something momentous happens to the Doctor personally. But it's still Doctor Who and for the most part I love it.

Know what else was nice yesterday? The weather. Even if my day in the City was a total waste it was good to be outside walking in it. I have nothing exciting happening today, I will go to my PO box and go to Trader Joe's and not much else but I'll be out and about. It's overcast but I don't think it's going to rain. Maybe today is the day I win tickets to Hamilton.

I am in a live music draught. I have not been to a concert in days, since I saw Kat Quinn. Yes, that might not seem like a long time but it is for me and I think that was six days after the previous shows. Of course five days ago I saw Pits the Unauthorized Holes Musical. I don't see anything exciting tonight but tomorrow I'm seeing Sharon Goldman at Rockwood Music Hall. Come and here songs from her brand spankin' new album KOL ISHA (A Woman's Voice). You can buy a copy from the hunky merch guy. All the cool people will be there.

Now it's time for breakfast, it's poached egg and ham and cheese day. You didn't know that? Clearly it needs better PR.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 06, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!