I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 25, 2013 - 9:47 a.m.

Just What the Doctor Ordered

I started writing before 9 AM, give me a cookie! I got up early today and should have been writing half an hour ago at least. I never know where my time goes before I start writing.

I hardly went out yesterday. I just went for dinner and that wasn't exciting, Popeye's. I'm saddened that Popeye's no long excites me.

I have no idea where this entry is going. I have some short things to write about and I'm hoping that triggers something in me. If it doesn�t I look at my backlog of diary ideas. I just did that and nothing excites me. I've used most of it up. I'm not afraid of working without a net.

But back to loose ends that need cleaning up. First my health. It's been weird I had another Crohn's attack last night. This was old school, the way it hit me years ago. My stomach didn't hurt I just felt bloated but I had a fever and the things that go with it, chills, sweats, and a headache. I took my 20 mg of prednisone and it went away within half an hour.

I wanted something to cheer me up last night so I turned to an old standby, Doctor Who. I went to Amazon Prime and found they had an episode I had never seen from season 5, the second doctor, Patrick Troughton. I love him but very few of his episodes the BBC actually burning their backlog of tapes to make room in storage. Tom Baker is my favorite Doctor with Pertwee close behind but Troughton could top them both if I saw more of him. There is some grading on a curve as the production was so primitive and it often seems like it was written in a rush. But the tone and stories are brilliant. The episode I watched was Tomb of the Cybermen It was the first time I saw the companion Victoria played by Deborah Watling. I liked her quite a bit. it also had all-time great companion Jamie. He was in all the second doctor episodes and more than any other companion.

Classic Doctor Who makes me happy. Just hearing the theme music and seeing the opening drives out the darkness.

usually it takes something I saw as a child to make me feel like that but I was about 20 when Doctor Who came to America,. I had seen the Peter Cushing films which is why I tried it but was immediately hooked on the TV show which was even better. When they changed the time she show was aired to Saturday night I bought a VCR so I wouldn't miss it when I went out which I did almost every Saturday night. I videoed ever episode aired here. Some are very poor quality as I had to watch on a UHF station from Jersey for years but I still rewatched them all. For years my New Year's Eve tradition was a Doctor Who marathon.

When the new series started I bought an all zone DVD player and bought the DVDs from Amazon.UK before they were aired here, I couldn't wait. But the series slowly lost me. They made the Time Lords evil. The Doctor got romantic with companions. It took itself far too seriously. The companions became practically superheroes. Every season some crisis comes up that threatened to destroy the universe. It rarely blended the humor with the drama well. I finally stopped watching it rather than get angry every time I watched.

Of course the old series wasn't even. It improved as time went on till John Nathan Turner took over during the fourth doctor, Tom Baker's reign. Then it started going downhill. By the time it reached the seventh doctor, Sylvester McCoy I found that they often couldn't hold my interest. It wasn't that I was tired of the show as old episodes still excited me. When I get my life back in order I'll have to buy the DVD of the lost episodes, the ones that they found after the show was syndicated in America that scattered in the vaults of TV stations scattered around the world. Sometimes they had to be patched together out of parts found in different countries. If I had a Tardis I'd go back and rescue the tapes before the Beeb destroyed them. Who wants to get me a Tardis for my birthday.

I guess I found out what I was going to write about..

I'll leave you with something you probably have never seen.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 25, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!