I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 26, 2016 - 12:47 a.m.

A Day Latter and Still Thankful

Dateline Van Merc Hill: I'm up visiting Emily and Joe in Southborough MA for the weekend. Yesterday and tomorrow are booked with Thanksgiving and Thanksgiving 2 but today was free to explore New England So what exciting things did we do? Not leaving the house and for me and one of the kids never getting dressed. That's an exciting day. I spent all day playing with kids, playing with adults, playing with dogs, playing with a baby, watching TV and of course eating. This is a day to be thankful for. We played Apples to Apples and Scrabble and Scatagories Junior.

I watched the original Doctor Dolittle with the kids. I was too old for the film when it came out, I was a very sophisticated 10-year-old. Now I'm just right for it. Part of the problem is that it tried very hard to be Mary Poppins but was not Mary Poppins. It taught kids the important lesson that 27-year-old Samantha Egger is an appropriate love interest for 59-year-old Rex Harrison.

We had take-out barbecue for dinner. Barbecue is my favorite cuisine, so that was good. The culinary highlight of the day has to be when we were watching Deadwood after the kids were asleep and she brought a bag of Halloween candy for me to each. I will not say how much I had, just that few horses would not have choked on it. I was in glucose heaven.

As always, we sang. I love that whenever I'm here we sing. It's like being at Falcon Ridge. Joe and Maggie, the eldest daughter, did most of the singing; not that I'm shy when I know the lyrics. I am lyrically impaired so that's not often.

I had some post-holiday catching up with friends via text, Carey, Katherine, and Brianne. Those count as usual suspects. The latter two know the Van Merc Hill residents. They are part of our Falcon Ridge community.

We had thoughts of seeing Amy Kucharik in Salem tonight but it was too late and too far for a day where we never got dressed.

After the other kids went to bed Joe and I were left alone for a while with Genevieve aka Little G. I had been petting Max, one of the two yellow labs. When I went on the floor to play with Little G Max kept positioning himself between me and her. If I stopped petting him for a second he'd started licking me. He was determined to get all my attention. I have never seen a dog act like that before, have you? I was going to say he was jealous of the baby but that's teleological. You should not assign motivations to animals. I will stick with reporting my recollection of what happened. I'm being precise about my language so you can see how much is assumed and judge for yourself how reliable the information is.

I didn't mind it as it made me feel appreciated Pretty much everything here makes me feel appreciated by the adults, children, and animals. I don't know a more accepting environment.

I'll keep it short today and post this and go to sleep.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 26, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!