I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 05, 2014 - 5:02 p.m.

I Came Here to Tell You About The Draft

I got very little sleep last night and now have limited time when I could nap. What am I doing instead? I'm blogging. That's how much I love My Gentle Readers.

Last night I should have seen the incredible Zo� Lewis but I couldn't because I had not prepared for my Fantasy Baseball draft which was today. I've had ages to do it and of course k,ept putting it off. But yesterday I prepared and today we had the draft. Chris picked me up at 7:15 AM, that and staying up to 1:45 AM and waking up at 6:15 instead of the 6:50 when I set my alarm is why I'm sleepy.

The draft is at Joe's house somewhere in the south. It isn't the deep south but I'm pretty sure it's the Confederacy. We went so far south of the Outerbridge Crossing. Some people might call it Central Jersey or even South North Jersey but they are wrong.

We got there a few minutes before 9:00 when the draft was scheduled to start. We started a bit later as some people didn't get there till after we did.

Now I of course did all my draft prep on my computer though I had a paper backup of some of it. But the thing is as you know, If I unplug my computer and turn It off it doesn't want to turn on again,. I tried something new, I kept the power cord plugged in the computer. I can turn it off and turn it back on if I keep it plugged in the entire time. So what happened? It wouldn't turn on. Good thing I'm persistent. I kept plugging it in over and over again and one time I saw the little power light come on. Then the computer would boot.

I always have fun at the draft. It is my only time to hang out with most of the guys. I was unhappy that Larry and Diana couldn't make it. They had a big bridge tournament. It puts them in position to win a national championship. I wish I had been better with keeping up with my emails. I'd have voted to move the draft day to accommodate them. We've moved it in the past to accommodate others. I don't think people get what a big deal the Grand National Teams, the Bridge Tournament, is.

I am an original member of the league. We've been at this 25 years. That's a big hunk of my life.

Despite not preparing enough I think I drafted well. I didn't get any starts but I kept stars from last year. I made a lot of very good pickups. So ladies and gentleman here are your 2014 Nashional Batnoses.

C Suzuki, Kurt MIN
C Flowers, Tyler CHA
1B Davis, Chris BAL
2B Infante, Omar KAN
3B Keppinger, Jeff CHA
SS Ramirez, Alexei CHA
CI Konerko, Paul CHA
MI Bogaerts, Xander BOS
OF Cruz, Nelson BAL
OF Murphy, David CLE
OF Cabrera, Melky TOR
OF Victorino, Shane BOS
OF Hart, Cory SEA
DH Beckham, Gordon CHA
P Darvish, Yu TEX
P Frieri, Ernesto LAA
P Scherzer, Max DET
P Tillman, Chris BAL
P Dickey, R.A. TOR
P Neftali Feliz TEX
P Ventura, Yordano KAN
P Crain, Jesse HOU
P O'Day, Darren BAL
Sorry I'm not going to take the time to format that nicely. Most of the abbreviations are obvious but CI is Corner Infielder and MI Middle Infielder.

My farm team is.

Jorge Alfara TEX
Lindor, Francisco CLE
Russell, Addison OAK
Pat my Baltimore players are Davis, Cruz, Tillman, and O'Day. Notice that's more than my fair share of Orioles. Make sure you root extra hard for them and give me any inside info you get.

I just realized I have no Yankees! I did not compromise with evil!

The draft ended around noon. We didn't stay for pizza. I'm not sure what time we left. We made a stop at Target and I got home at 3:00, With some trepidation I plugged my computer in and it worked the first time! That's good, I was able to listen to the second half of Carolyn's show on WMUA. She was playing rain songs. I called her up and made a request, Carolann Solebello's Brooklyn in the Rain. I love that I can do that.

Tonight I'm going to a special edition of John Platt's On Your Radar at the Landmark on Main Street in Port Washington. I had a plus one and I couldn't get anyone to go with me. But Erika texted me today and told me that if she gets her work done early she can. Wish her and me luck. I will have fun if she can't make it. I go to shows most of the time. But I have this thing. The majority of times I have an extra ticket to something I have trouble finding someone who will or can go with me. It is a vulnerable spot in my psyche.

I have to go. I'll let you know how it turns out tomorrow.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 05, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!