I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 09, 2014 - 12:13 p.m.

The Discovery Channel

I have still not decided what to write but yet I'm writing. Sometimes the process of writing makes the decision on its own. I'll start with what's easy, talking about what I did even though it wasn't much.

Yesterday I went to therapy. I had a lot to talk about. Then I went up to my PO Box. I was expecting a Terramar Men's Thermasilk Filament Pant. That's long underwear. Since when is "pant" a word? It's pants. I know it makes no sense but we call it a pair of pants, not a pant. I remember when I first saw it in a store I figured the owner wasn't a native English speaker. Now it seems to be used by manufacturers. Anyway when I picked up my mail I found a silk jersey instead of pants (yes pants not pant). I went to the Amazon site and it wasn't the clearest but I found what to do. After I chose return item it lists "wrong item" as a choice. Now I have to print out a mailing label and send out what I got with UPS in the next 30 days. I don't have a printer but it provides the option of emailing the label to a friend to print so that's what I did. I'm actually proud of myself because this is exactly the kind of thing that my anxiety makes difficult for me to do.

I went to Heather's for dinner, we ended up having pizza. We watched TV again. I'm watching TV? When did that happen. It isn't remarkable anymore. We watched "How to Get Away with Murder." Forget the murder part, every lawyer on the show would be disbarred in milliseconds. Not one but two people had sex with someone to help on a case. Lots more people would be lawyers if that's the way it worked.

It's funny I was thinking about writing about stuff I own that makes my life better and one thing is my silk long underwear. It would be so appropriate now but I actually want to take pictures of all the stuff and I don't want to get out of bed to do that. We'll leave that as a future project.

NOOO! I was going to give my list of best albums of 2014 but I realized I haven't finished going through all my CDs from NERFA. There's at least one I haven't listened to yet that I suspect might make the list. Early in the year I started making a list of musical discoveries. I soon forgot to keep that up. The musical year ends with NERFA so I am already in the next year. Let me tell you who made the list I started and see if I can come up with some others.

  • Darlingside. They were supposed to become part of My People. They haven't. I haven't seen them since February. How did that happen? I know I screwed up and didn't get them to the the Budgiedome. But they still make the list. They should be My People and I'll connect with them next time they come to town.
  • Sasha Papernik. I met her socially before I saw her play. I sat with her at an Amigos show. That was not too surprising as he was Justin's fianc�. No longer. Now she's his wife. But I went to see her perform and she's great. She's a pianist with a varied repertoire. The first time I saw her she started with a song by Irving Berlin, did some originals, two classical pieces, "Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairies" by Tchaikovsky and a selection from Prokofiev's "Love for Three Oranges." She finished with "Rhapsody in Blue." She is one of My People.
  • Mya Byrne. A little weird to list her here as she's been one of my best friends for something like three years but she's reinvented herself on both a personal and more germane to this list musically so I'm counting her. It has only been in the last year I've seen her as a rocker and that's she shines. She has the raw energy of rock and roll.
  • Harpeth Rising. I first saw them at NERFA 2013 which caps the last year but I don't count NERFA discoveries till I see them someplace else so they go with this year. And like Mya that have raised their game. They are now on my short list. Despite the fact that I've only seen them three times they are clearly part of My People.
  • Evie Ladin. I discovered Evie at Jalopy sharing a bill with Brother Sun. I love going in and knowing nothing about a performer and being totally won over. Her website says "Song Dance Banjo." Love that as clearly a banjo isn't used to play songs. She does all those things well and to give her high praise reminded me of Kristin Andreassen.
  • John Fullbright. Is it possible that I didn't discover him till this year? I think It is. I had heard about him for years but never saw him. Do any of My Gentle Readers not know him? I was behind the curve on him. He's really good when he plays guitar, he's out of this world when he moves to the piano.

Wow that's it for the year? Probably not but as I forgot to keep the list going I had to vamp. Those are the ones I can recall. New Year's Resolution. Keep up my list of discoveries.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 09, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!