I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 13, 2004 - 1:05 a.m.

Deirdreoon

I had a perfectly marvelous weekend so the first thing I�m going to do is complain. Right before I signed on tonight my phone rang. Unfortunately the phone was somewhere in my bed under the blankets. I couldn�t find it for about 5 rings and the caller hung up and didn�t leave a message. I called Leah to see if it was her and it wasn�t. Now the thing is Leah is pretty much the only person who ever calls me. So I get a rare phone call from somebody else and I missed it. If it was you let me know.

OK now for the good stuff. I spent Saturday getting ready for the house concert and trying to mail some Festivus stuff. Once again I was an idiot and didn�t succeed. I left the house late and had just time to get something I needed and to get to post office before it closed. Then I realized I didn�t have one of the things I needed to put in the package to be mailed. So now that has to wait till Monday. Have I mentioned how difficult it is to not have brain?

OK that�s enough complaining right? I�m going to skip the trouble people had getting to my house on time and their misadventures on the way. I�ll let them tell you the story themselves.

We started late but Lori, Steve, Melissa, Rebecca and Deirdre Flint joined me for a pizza dinner that couldn�t be beat. After that we worked at transforming my living room into a folk venue. It is really amazing how many chairs I have in my house, we counted 18 places to seat on the first floor alone. If I wanted to have 25 people for a house concert I could do it without borrowing chairs and they could all fit.

The lateness bug hit everyone so most people arrived just before the announced show time of 7:45. It wasn�t really a problem and we started off around 8.

The show was great, Deirdre always is. This was the right crowd for her too. She has a song about people who had 15 minutes of fame and where the audience is supposed to fill in the person�s name at the end of each verse from the clues in it. The audience is not supposed to actually to be able to remember them all. Not with my friends, they got every single one, even Ross Perot�s running mate in 1992. Do you know who that was? Deirdre said that she should have done that song in Latin with this crowd.

She did all my requests, Boob Fairy, Jenny of 100 dates, 1-900-score-a-date, and The Shuffleboard Queens. She did some new songs, other classics, and I should have written down a set list. I bet some people there could re-create it for me.

Lets see if I can recreate the guest list:

  • Melissa

  • Lori and Steve

  • Rebecca

  • Jim and Alice

  • Ken

  • Gary and Marian

  • Fred and Edie

  • Chris

  • Gella

  • Jill

Did I forget anyone? Now I could cheat and look at my guest list but I won�t. I�ll just wait for the angry email from anyone I hurt by neglecting to mention them.

After the concert everyone hung out for a hour or so and talked, and ate, and bought CDs from Deirdre. We remembered to get a picture of Dave the Lion, aka the King of the Jungle of Spain, with Deirdre and the Fr�heads.

After the FHDC Fr�heads stayed and had a mini-Fr�con for another hour.

Then it was down to Lori, Steve, and Rebecca, who spent the night. The planned viewing of Wild Zero, the film that Maura Kennedy calls the greatest rock film ever was skipped in the interest of sleep. Well Rebecca nodded right off, Steve made it till about 2. Then Lori and I did our usual, �well talk for a few minutes before we go to sleep� that as usual lasted till 4AM. By that point we decided that it would be funny if everyone�s name would be funnier if it ended with �oon.� You can just call me Gordoon, from now on, she�s Loridoon.

This morning we got the house into shape and went out for a bagel breakfast. Right before we went out my sister Sue and her husband, Mike arrived, my mother got in a bit before them, so they got to meet some of my friends.

I�m leaving out tons of fun. I was going to say it was a perfect weekend, but it wasn�t, too many of you couldn�t make it. It was pretty amazing though yet still left room for improvement, what more can someone ask for?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 13, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!