I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 25, 2013 - 9:32 a.m.

Cops and Donuts or Jo to the World

I had some excitement last night. I was a witness to a real life crime; the police were called and everything. I teased it Facebook so now you get to read about it. I was going to put it in its proper chronological order but then realized that some of you would be skipping over the rest to go to it and the other parts don't deserve skipping.

Last night at 11:15 I stopped at the Dunkin' Donuts near the corner of 7th Avenue on Christopher Street. I almost walked right out when I saw that there were hardly any doughnuts on the rack. I didn't because I realized there was some drama going on. Three young woman were arguing with one of the guys behind the counter. It soon escalated to the point I was afraid things might get violent. I wanted them to make sure they saw someone was there watching. The three guys started to leave then one of them picked up the pile of trays and threw it at the head of the guy behind the counter. Then tempers really started to flare. The coworker who seemed to be in charge came racimg from the back part of the counter area and was carrying what I think is the knife they use to cut the croissants and such but it might have been what they use to take breakfast sandwiches out of the oven. It was large and he brandished it like a weapon. He didn't leave the counter area but he held it up to the guy that threw the tray. I told everyone to calm down. I just wanted to remind everyone there was a witness there. The guy that threw the tray was looking scary; think back to the way they used to portray people on PCP in movies. There was lots of cursing and invective. He then picked up one of the chairs and smashed it on the counter. He didn't hit anyone but did hit one of the electronic cash registers. I retreated to the back of the store and started to call the police but the first guy that the tray was thrown out already was. The guys stormed out.

I picked up the chair and waited for the cops. I realized what a terrible witness I was. I couldn't start to describe the perpetrators. I realized that I should have taken my phone out and taken a picture but I did not think of it in the heat of the moment.

When the cops came the guys who worked there gave a description, not sure how great it was since I couldn't describe them, but it sounded good,. The cops went out to look for them which I thought was a waste of time. Where would they look? They had a five minute head start, maybe more. I waited around for the cops as I was a witness. I talked to the workers and mentioned that I wish I had taken a picture. They said it wasn't a problem as it was all caught on the video camera. Did you know DD had video cameras? When the cops came back they talked to the guys that worked there and ignored me. I asked if they wanted to get a statement or my contact information. They said no, "We only need one witness." I think the cops handled it terribly. Of course they should have at least taken my contact information. If they ever caught the guys I was the only witness that was not a participant to what happened. The cops just wanted the case to go away and not file a report. They tried to discourage the guys who worked there from making a formal report then realized that there was property damage and the owner of the store would want a report. I had to tell the cops about the camera. They didn't ask and the guys who worked there didn't say anything. The cops asked to look at it and the guys said they didn't have the password. The cops were going to just let it go. They guys said that they were going to call their manager, The cops wanted to know why? They said to get the password. They didn't say "duh" but I know I was thinking it. I could follow why couldn't the cops? The cops said someone would come by today to look at the video.

As they seemed to very much not want to talk to me I left. They cops were both very young and I take it inexperienced. They did not inspire confidence. I'm thinking of writing the NYPD and let them know what happened. Maybe they were just distracted by the donuts.

The reason I was in the neighborhood was to attend Jo Kroger's A Very Merry Un-Birthday Part II. Jo just turned 30 on the 22nd. She was born the same day and year as my nephew Max! It's strange to realize I have friends my nephew's age. I have friends ten years younger than my nephew. He's old. Yet I'm not. Don't know how that happened.

But back to Jo. she planned an extravaganza at the Path Caf�. She made everybody cupcakes! She must be a hobbit, she gives other people presents on her birthday. She also gave everyone a CD single. Well not everyone as more people showed up than she expected. I didn't get a CD.

I got there just a bit before show time but the previous act, a lovely woman named Elvira who came all the way from Scotland was on before her. She was quite good.

Jo got a two hour time slot and she had some friends, two sisters whose name I have of course forgotten open for her. They did mainly covers but had one original song that had a very Roches like bridge with nonsense syllables, great familial harmonies.

Jo was joined on some of her songs by Caitlin Mahoney. I know Jo and Caitlin through Kat Quinn. The three of them all back up each other. I am pretty sure that Kat was at Part I. I love all of them. They are I a musical circle almost disjoint from my usual ones. I have only six mutual friends with her on FB. For comparison I haven't known Jeremiah that much longer than I've known but we share 199 friends.


Caitlin and Jo

Jo had a new song that I loved, its' marvelously geeky. What I have a geeky friend?

Yes she mentions MST3K in the song. I knew there was a reason I loved Jo. That is not the only reason. I did go to one of my least favorite venues just to see her.

Because the place was filled with her friends the biggest reason I don't like the PATH wasn't there, the people talking during the show. Everyone was there FOR the show.

Wow I better get this finished. I'm meeting Saburah for brunch this morning at Petite Abeille in the City and I have to get ready.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 25, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!