I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 25, 2015 - 11:57 a.m.

Darlingside: Life on the Beat

Well it's a little earlier than I've been starting, 10:45 and my alarm woke me up this morning. I must have just said, "stop" and turned the alarm off then fell back asleep the last two days. I went to sleep a little earlier last night but then something woke me up. Was it a bad dream? Maybe.

Know what? I ended up seeing Darlingside. I was worried about the cost but I saved a bit by buying my ticket at the door. I figured if I got there early I wouldn't be shut out. My experience is that Rockwood never sells out in advance. They also played the night before and that helped. The show was at 8:30 which means that door should have been at 8:00 so I wanted to get there by then. I ate an early, for me, quick and easy dinner. Bedder Chedder sausages and leftover gnocchi. I love cooking but I also appreciate meals I can make quickly. There's something to be said for leftovers and microwaves. Leftovers and Microwaves is a good album title.

I left later than I planned but made it there at 7:58. There was already a line. I didn't know anyone on it. But I was still sure I'd get in, I was maybe 20 people back. The band before them ran late. They were still performing when they should have been letting us in. Then of course Darlingside had to sound check. We got in around 8:20 and the show started late at 8:45. I love Rockwood but this can be an issue. With three shows in a night they need to get people off the stage on time.

I tried to make a beeline for the stairs so I could get the Statler or Waldorf seat. But someone said "Hi! You're back!" It was one of the waitresses. I stopped to talk to her. I love being treated as a person not wallet. But the problem was a bunch of people slipped in before me when I was talking and the last two took the seats I wanted. So I went to my backup plan which is standing right down front on the floor. The advantage to that is I get to hang my bag on the rail and don't have to hold it all show. So that's what I did.

Darlingside is supposed to be on my heavy rotation list but I haven't seen them many times, I'm not sure why. I also don't know why they are in my heavy rotation list. I'm usually know why I love a band. I can't nail it down with them. They do the high male harmony thing, I usually don't like that. They do tight four part harmonies pretty straightforwardly. The vocal lines don't dance around each other. They don't seem to play with getting a little ahead and behind each other. The instrumentation isn't complex. Nothing they do seems complex, but they feel complex. I get that satisfying feel of a lot going on even though I don't hear the elements. I hear each instrument separately but they aren't each doing their own thing. Is it just that they do everything they do so well? It's that they hit exactly the right notes in exactly the right timing? Perhaps but I feel that there's more going on and I'm missing it. It's odd but they are appealing to my intellect in ways my intellect can't determine .They don't just sound pretty, that's for sure. But they do sound pretty. And they are charming. And the songs don't all sound the same. That's a big thing that I do notice. They also know how to hold a crowd. I didn't hear anybody talking but the crowd wasn't quiet. They were showing their appreciation. I was too.

I was disappointed I didn't know anyone in the audience. These guys are great and obviously draw a crowd. Where were my friends? After the show I went to the back room above Rockwood 3 to get their CD. I spotted Doug from Cricket tell the Weather, I said hi and a few seconds later Jason his former bandmate now with the Brooklyn Bluegrass Collective walked up. Doug was just a bit ahead of him. I knew that If only was going to see two friends there they would be musicians; Darlingside are musicians' musicians. There was a mob around David who was selling the CDS so we went outside where there was a lot more air. We talked for a while and caught up. Then they went for pizza and I braved the crowd for a CD. I got one. It was still too mobbed for me to talk to the Auyon, Harris, and Don. I have to admit I cheated and double checked out to spell "Auyon." Why is that cheating? It's fact-checking which is what I'm supposed to do. It would have been lazy if I hadn't checked.

I gave myself a treat on the way home and stopped at the Sugar Cafe when Joe said "hi." I got a chocolate croissant. I'm more than wallet to Joe too. I was just talking to a friend how hard it is to make small talk when you have to deal with the public. But I actually enjoy It when I'm part of the public. I appreciate the people I can talk to and try and learn their names. Alyssa is the waitress at Rockwood. I can't double check the spelling of her name. I remember names better now when I'm having more aphasia than when I was young. It's not because of my brain changing but because I make more of an effort now.

There are eight million concerts I want to see tonight but I'm actually leaving the city and seeing Spuyten Duyvil at Spiral Sounds aka Gidge and Loyse's house in Jersey City. Oh this is funny. I'm listening to John Platt's show from Sunday on the archives and Darlingside just came on. He played Bobtown earlier, I'm seeing them tomorrow. That's not a coincidence he likes to help promote the live shows coming up. I wonder if he'll play Spuyten Duyvil.

Hey I'm going to be on the radio, WFDU, as a guest DJ with Brian a week from Tuesday. I'll be playing all my new CDs and music from the bands I just saw and those I'm going to be seeing. I go on at nine, or is that ten? I'll let you know for sure before then.

Now for brunch, I think it's grits ala Horvendile but I might change my mind and have matzoh brei. I finished before noon! Give me a cookie. Well OK give me matzoh brei or grits. That's a good band or album name, it's klezmer and mountain ballads.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 25, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!