I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 26, 2014 - 10:49 a.m.

It's a Dar Dar Better Thing I Do

I got up way to early today. Well too early based on going to sleep well after 2 AM and getting up in the middle of the night. But just in time to listen to John Platt on WfUV.

Not much to write about till I went out last night. I went to see Dar Williams at The Landmark on Main Street with Fred, Gene, and Isabel. When I lived in Bayside this one of the closest venues to me. it was so convenient. Not so much now that I'm living in Brooklyn without a car. I took the to Atlantic Terminal where I caught the Long Island Railroad to Jamaica where I switched trains to one to Merrick. There is something like a 12 minute layover. At least I did some planning to make the trip energy efficient. Fred lives in Rockville Centre, a couple of stops on the LIRR from Merrick where Gene and Isabel live so I suggested we all go together. Fred picked them up at their house then me at the LIRR station then we drove from the south shore of Long Island up to the Port Washington on the north shore. We got there a bit more than two hours after I left my house. I was worth it because I got to eat dinner with them at Finn McCool's across the street. Eating at Finn's before shows at the Landmark is a tradition. How did this tradition get started? I'll tell you; I don't know. Well OK Tevye didn't know but I do. It's across the street from the Landmark for god's sake. Oh and the food is good. The company is even better. It's BYOC (Bring Your Own Company. It's nice and unrushed when you eat across the street and you have assigned seats.

We got in and Gene and Isabel parted ways with me and Fred as we had bought out tickets separately. I knew I'd know people there and when I sat down Marie was sitting right behind us. I felt bad as I forgot her name. it is really hard not having a brain. Then unsurprisingly we saw John and Sheila Platt and went over to say hi to them. No surprise that they were there as John was the emcee. Why do people write "emcee?" It's initials We don't write Teevee. ., MC stands for Master of Ceremonies. I bet there are people that don't even realize it.

The show was great. There was no opener and Dar was Dar. For many of you that's enough. You know exactly what I mean. Dar just radiates joy. It's more than that. She looks at the world in wonder like the first elf children when the world was young and everything was a new.

OK that was my insight for the night. I've been seeing Dar for 20 years. She's as core an artist as you can get for me. I'd enjoy her if she didn't sing a song and just told stories. I'd enjoy her if she didn't tell stories and just sang songs. She's not a brilliant composer. She's not a great instrumentalist. Her songs are not clever singer/songwritery songs. They are simple. They are also perfect. She always uses exactly the right word. But even more important she has something say, something that other people haven't said.

After the show came the matter of getting home. There is a Port Washington LIRR Station but that line doesn't connect with Brooklyn. so I went back down to Merrick. I think that was not wise. It would have been faster to go back to Penn Station and take the subway back from there. I thought the train to Jamaica was late but I just checked, it is not supposed to be a quick connection. The trip when from Merrick to Atlantic then is supposed to take an hour an 1:24 instead of the 47 minutes the previous train takes. OK I'm doing this again in April. I'll have to find a better way home. so the show let out around 10. I took the 10:54 train from Merrick which gets into Atlantic Terminal at 12:18. I then just missed the train and had to wait 16 minutes for the next train. I didn't get home till 1 AM three hours after the show ended.

I have nothing planned for today. That's not good. I sense the ringwraiths just beyond the firelight waiting for their chance to get in.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 26, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!