I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 09, 2015 - 10:01 a.m.

As Cold as I Am

A miracle is occurring. I am writing this before 9 AM. It's the end of the world as we know it. And I feel fine. Well OK my shoulder hurts.

Last night I went to my first concert of the year. Yes it took to January 8. No it wasn't. I saw Mark Allen Berube's CD release show on Sunday. I just forgot to put it in my spreadsheet. It isn't easy not having a brain. Let's start again.

Last night I went to my second concert of the year. Dar Williams played at the Christopher Street Coffeehouse. Fortunately me for me, the show was free so I got to go. Dar was the featured artist in what is primarily an open mic. The open mic started at 7:00. As it was a free show I was afraid the place would be packed so I wanted to get there at 6:30. There train was super slow and I didn't get there till 6:50 but that was not a problem. Tbere were seats. I knew that I'd have friends there so I walked down the central aisle till I found Brian. He was asked to be the photographer. Bob who runs the series now recently discovered the volunteer group that I started when I was on the board. Yes this was my old balliwick. I was feeling very nostalgic. I miss helping to run a coffeehouse. Hell I ran it for a season but of course I was deep in anxiety then and things fell apart.

After I sat next to Brian I saw that Meg Braun was in the same row, Ina May Wool was right behind me, Dar right behind Meg, and David Goldman in front of me. All but Brian performed.

I got up to go to the bathroom and ran into Karen Hudson. She was just there to listen not perform. When I got out of the bathroom I heard someone start a guitar intro that was better than the others who had played. I wasn't surprised to find it was Ina May. I joined Karn while she played. She was sitting further back so I didn't get pictures. after her two songs I talked to Karen. There was someone tall in front of me and he shifted so I couldn't see the mic. But I heard someone singing better than the rest. It was David. I stayed with Karen for one more song then rejoined Brian.

I was sitting second row for Meg and got pics. They did not come out well. My real camera was much better for taking pics at Christopher Street.

Meg did my favorite two songs from the album she's working on now. It is her best work yet. I went a long time without seeing Meg, now I'm seeing her all the time. That's a good thing.

Then there was Dar. How many times have I written about Dar over the years? I have been a fan for just about 20 years, since The Honesty Room. She was one of my great discoveries on WfUV and perhaps was the archetypal City Folk artist. That was the WFUV golden age. How many times have I seen Dar? Let's say 40, twice a year? Sounds good. I never get tired of her. Because of my money issues I had to miss her annual Boxing Day show. This helped make up for it.

I think I'd pay, at least when I had money, to just hear Dar's banter. She radiates youthful enthusiasm. She is forever the kid in the Babysitter's Here. "I can't wait to give her the card! I can't wait to give her the card." She did two songs I dind't know one of which was brand new. That was exciting. Of course I sang along to As Cool As I Am. Hell I AM the others. How many times have I used that as a title here? No matter I don't get tired of that either.

I didn't get a chance to say more than a few words to Dar. When I came in I got my usual, "I know him from someplace who the hell is he look?" from her. You know the look I give you. The entire world is vaguely familiar to me. Dar has a better excuse. She meets a lot of people. So Dar if you read this I'm the one that rights the constantly self-referencing blog. You know like I just did.

I didn't get a chance to eat before the show so I didn't stay much after Dar. Brian and I stopped for a little pizza and a lot of conversation. I'm going to be seeing him today and tomorrow too. Yes I'm back in the music swing. There are advantages to being me. I can hear lots of music and not pay lots of money. The disadvantage is not having money. It's hard getting by on your good looks when you look like me.

When I got home I made a hot chocolate. Is there anything better than coming in from the freezing cold and drinking hot chocolate? I have the Land O' Lakes mix. It's pretty good. Much better than Swiss Miss. Stone Cold Creamery is the best of the non-premium brands. The best I had was the "No Chewing" I got for the first time this year.

My room is freezing. It is just not insulated wll. I have a little space heater but it isn't doing the job. Brrrrr.

Today is a back and forth day. I am going up to my PO Box at Columbus Circle, I'm expecting some checks, then back down to Heather in Williamsburg, then to City Winery to see Red Molly, . Then back home to Crown Heights.

Wow I finished this before 10 AM


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 09, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!