I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 11, 2016 - 10:42 a.m.

My Adventures with Dangerous Dan and Poutine

I left the house and did things yesterday. I might actually have things to write about. Most importantly there's poutine involved. Yes, you don't want to miss this.

Dan and I haven't seen each other in a while and decided to get together and do something outdoors. I suggested walking across the Brooklyn Bridge. Yeah that's the other end of the world from me but it's at an express stop on the and that makes it easier to get to than places far closer. Well that's true on days that I'm not traveling. The MTA has a program where they do a massive amount of work every weekend affecting the service. If this is to catch up on a backlog great. If this is how it's going to be for now on, not so great. Why am I saying this? The was running local so I just took the from one end, Pelham Bay Park, to the other, Brooklyn Bridge-City Hall. That's a lot of stops. It's not fast. Yet I was all of three minutes late. I planned on getting there early. By pure luck I got out the right exit from the station, at the start of the bridge's walkway where Dan was waiting for me.

The bridge was very crowded. The weather was overcast and threatening, I did not expect so many people. Odd thing, once we were halfway the crowd thinned out. By the time we got to Brooklyn there were not that many people at all. People must have been starting from Manhattan and walked only halfway and turned back. That's silly as the Subway is right at the other end of the bridge too. Did you know that the bridge was designed to take people from what's now Brooklyn Town Hall but was then the City Hall to City Hall in Manhattan? There's a reason it goes so far inland. They wanted it to go from the heart of town to the heart of town, connecting the two great cities of New York and Brooklyn.

We walked to the end of the ramp, instead of going down the stairs that leave you further west. That left us at Cadman plaza. We had no real plans, just to walk around. When it looked like it was going to rain we were thinking of the Transit Museum but then the skies cleared. From Cadman Plaza we walked due West. We were going to go to Brooklyn Bridge Park but I found that Dan hand never walked the Promenade so we went there. I love that walk the best view in the City. Anyone want to buy me a house along it? I asked Dan and he said, "no." That's on my list of "When I win the lottery" locations.

We walked by the First Unitarian Church of Brooklyn where First Acoustics holds their concerts. It always feels like home. We stopped when we got to the Fruit Street Sit to sit. Is that's what it's called? It might be the Fruit Street Seats. But whatever it is we took it as request to sit and we did. We eventually made it to Brooklyn Bridge Park. I was very disappointed to find that the Ample Hills Creamery cart was not there. I had looked forward to having some.

Dan went to visit his sister Autumn by the Brooklyn Museum so I walked him to the Clark Street Station to catch the . I know that neighborhood better than he does. My plan was to go to Mile End on Hoyt Street for poutine. I was originally going to take the with Dan but then decided to talk a few blocks to High Street where I could catch the C which would leave me closer. So I walked to High Street. Know how there are service changes on the weekends? The entire station was closed and the trains rerouted. I had to walk back to Clark Street and wait for the alone. Ugh. When I got out I realized that the walk from the z to the C was shorter at that end than the way I tried to go. So I was just an idiot. That should actually surprise you as I'm always an idiot but not usually about planning public transit routes.

I tried something new at Mile End, poutine with smoked meat. It was amazing. The thing is it was no more amazing that poutine without smoked meat and cost 44% more money. So next time, which will be whenever I'm in Brooklyn next, I will get it without. How did I never eat at Mile End while I lived in Brooklyn and it was 20 minutes away? Hell it was about 10 minutes away when I lived in Fort Greene.

Then I headed out to Fort Greene to the Stop & Shop. I took the bus I used to take when I lived there. There was nothing special I wanted to buy there but it is cheaper than on City Island and only 10 minutes away.

Coming home I got clever, I decided to take the Q which is express to 59th street and switch to the there. But of course the Q only went to 57th street and 7th Ave on the weekend. But that worked out fine. I took it to Union Square and that's the leg of the trip with the biggest time saving.

No what I didn't write about? Talking to Dan and that was the best part and point of the day, well after poutine. I mean that's French fries, cheese curds, and meat gravy. The problem is that it's hard to write about talking to friends; most of the time what we talk about is not fit for public consumption, at least if I want to keep my other friends.

I also didn't write about breakfast, that I can discuss. I broke down the other day and bought sausages on City Island where they cost twice as much as Brooklyn. But I bought a higher quality, and the large Jones' patties. That was perfect to make a sausageeggandcheese sandwich for breakfast. If you are into healthy eating don't think about what I ate yesterday. If you are into delicious foods don't think about it either as you'll get jealous.

I have a conflict in plans tomorrow, there's John Platt's On Your Radar but there's also my Fantasy Baseball League's All-Star Game party. I think what I'm going to do is go to the first half of On Your Radar then head out to the party. It's a compromise. Last year I stayed for all of OYR and some of the people had already left the party when I arrived. I see those guys only three times a year so I should go.

Now for some relatively healthy poached eggs and ham for breakfast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 11, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!