I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 16, 2013 - 1:42 p.m.

Curse you Horvendile the Spiny Anteater

We all know that there is no such thing as curses and jinxes, right? Good. I don't want people to be afraid to be around me. My plan for yesterday was to teach then to go see Amy Speace at River Spirit Music aka Peter and Paula's house in Hastings. I had to catch a six o'clock train from Grand Central which gave me plenty of time after class. Amy always says that the one thing she misses in New York is good Chinese food so I was going to bring some up for the pot luck. Then after class I saw that somebody posted in the Facebook event that it was canceled. I checked my email and and read that poor Amy was sick and couldn't travel. I promise I didn't give it to her at NERFA. It's just my curse, which we agree doesn't exist. Now there were a zillion great musical thing going on last night. The one that hit me as I wrote the performers about how sad I was that I couldn't go was The Sea The Sea up at the PostCrypt. That was at 10:30, a late show. I now had to kill much more time. I decided I'd go up there for the first act at 8:30. That helped and I had to buy some bread and have dinner so that seemed OK. in fact I wasted too much time and didn't go to my default Friday plan the Free Music Friday series at the Museum of American Folk Art. Only too late did I see that Jo Kroger was playing. I didn't do anything right yesterday.

I walked up to Trader Joe's and got some stuff I needed including Challah. I'm going to make French toast as soon as I finish with this. Then I looked for a place to eat and couldn�t find anything great and went to a pizza/burger place. And they were terrible. The staff made me feel very uncomfortable, they were expensive, and the pizza was at best ordinary. I then hopped in the subway and headed up to the Postcrypt. I got there early, Rachel, who volunteers there, comment4ed on how long it's been since she's seen me. She's been to the Budgiedome!

I got there about 15 minutes early and was the first to sit down. When the show started there were others but they were all young woman. O the sacrifices I make for folk music. I thought I recognized the performer when I ran into him in the hall and I did. Itw as Farrell who works at Jalopy. Sorry I'm lost his first name in the bottomless pit that used to house my brain. He reminded me of Dave Van Ronk. You hardly ever hear that style anymore. He is ursine like Dave too. When he was done he said who would be following and the last act was not The Sea the Sea. I asked Rachel what was up. They had to cancel because Chuck had a sore throat. Good thing we don�t' believe in curses or jinxes. I haven't seen them in months, so you can't say I gave him the germs.

So on a night where there were a zillion shows I wanted to see I chose the two that were canceled. I was very tired so I just went home and skipped the last two performers.

If I had decided to write Chuck and Mira and tell them that I could now go like I was thinking of doing they would have written back and I'd have known to make other plans. Like I said, many bad decisions on my part.

Tomoko posted on facebook that she was playing with Carte Blanch at Radagast in Brooklyn at 6:00. I could have done that and still seen Chuck and Mira but thought it was too much traveling back and forth. Another bad decision obviously. I love Tomoko and I love Radagast, they have great wursts. And I could use a Tomoko fix. And from there I could have gone down to Two Moon to see The Second Friday Series hosted by Bev Grand and Carolann Solebello. I had forgotten that this was the show where they invited all our friends from NERFA to play with them. That would have been great. And it's in Brooklyn. But NOOOO, I had to make people sick, except we don't believe that.

I did end up getting a a lot of sleep. Not sure how much. I went to bed around midnight and woke up at 10 AM but my tummy bothered me in the night and I was up for a few hours in the middle of the night till it settled down and I knew I wouldn't have to run to the bathroom again. I still probably got close to eight hours.

I'm edited the pictures of Bobtown. Here they are.


Bobtown


Fred looking like he stepped out of "The Untouchabels"


Jen looking Carnaby Street and Alan looking like he's hiding behind Jen


Katherine looking like a Nymph


Karen looking like an angel

Bobtown in Babylon

Why does everything have to happen at once? I just found out that Hungrytown is playing tomorrow while I'm seeing Pesky J. Nixon. To make it more tantalizing, they are just one town over in Freeport. I never get to see them. This is just not unfair. But that doesn't mean that I'm cursed.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 16, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!