I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 02, 2016 - 11:11 a.m.

Somebody Has to Win

Welcome to I have an extra hour to write as my therapist is out of town today edition of Wise Madness. If I had known that a month ago I would have made my psychiatrist appointment at the time I usually see my therapist instead of right afterward. Oh well, it's not a big deal and I get the extra hour.

Yesterday's adventure was going to my PO box. I got a backup batter for my phone. The small battery came in a big box.

There are two reactions you can have to this. The first is to say, "The people at Amazon are idiots." The second is "They people at Amazon are not idiots, there must be something going on that I don't understand." Which camp do you think I fall into? Which do you fall into? I'm in the latter and I think I know what's going on. Amazon works because they developed super-efficient ways of shipping things. Parts of that are standardization and automation. They have a limited number of box sized that I expect are packed by automation. Then they can stack and pack perfectly aligned. Smaller packages are probably too difficult for that. This is wasteful of materials but the upside is I get to pop giant bubble wrap. I might start ordering cheap small things just to get that. No! I should order giant bubble wrap and get that and the bubble wrap it comes packed in! I'm so clever.

I didn't go out last night. That should be enough to let you know what I did. I watched the World Series. The Cubs won! We are going to have game 7 tonight. I will miss much of the game as tonight I do have a concert. I'm seeing Villa Palagonia at Rockwood Music Hall Stage 3 at 7 PM. You'll be able to catch the game if you live close or at least most of it. I live an hour and a half away. I might have to find a place to watch it in the City. But you should go to the show, it's going to be a special one.

Now back to baseball. I'm more excited about this World Series than any one that didn't involve the Mets. I have been rooting for the Cubs to win since after the Mets beat them out in 1969; except of course when it was against the Mets. But the Cubs always break your heart. They were clearly the best team in 1984 and couldn't get into the Series. Then there was 2003 and Steve Bartman. I don't blame him; he did what almost any fan would do. But that moment was the quintessence of the Cubs. Of course, last year I was rooting for them to lose to the Mets but I still felt bad for them.

The thing is that the Indians have been the same story, at least since 1908. They've reached he World series more than the Cubs of late but they always lose the series. Look at 1997, a one-run lead in the ninth, two outs away from victory with their lights-out closer, Jose Mesa on the mound. He blows the lead and the Tribe lost in the 11th. They are clearly the best team and they couldn't do it. Atlanta was the best team of the era, they led their division every year but kept losing in the post-season. The one time they won they beat the Indians.

The upshot of all this is that the fans of both teams know in their heart of hearts that their team is going to lose. They expect a broken heart; it's all they've ever known. But one of them will be wrong. In the end, there can be only one, maybe it be The Cubs. Wow I just figured out why the Yankees won so much. "In the end there can be only one," is from the movie and TV show Highlander On the show the narrator saying that in later seasons would add, "May it be Duncan Macleod the Highlander." What does that have to do with the Yankees? Their original name was The Highlanders! They did not wear kilts. I think that's why the name didn't stick.

Now for breakfast. I think it's a poached egg day.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 02, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!