I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 30, 2018 - 10:35 a.m.

There's No Cry Cry Cry in Baseball

I'm starting to write before the WFUV Question of the Day is over. I should put that on my list of accomplishments that I'm making for therapy homework. Hey, she said they didn't have to be big things. I put breathing on the list.

Good thing I started early, I have a lot to write about, I went to Opening Day at Citi Field and then to see Cry Cry Cry.

This was my first Mets home opener, let alone Opening Day in years. As I wrote two days ago Opening Day is my favorite day of the year. It was great to be back where I belong. I got there much later than I wanted to. I wanted to be there for the ceremonies and honoring Ed Charles who died weeks ago and Mets great Rusty Staub. I liked Charles, but he was a short-term Met, Rusty was one of my favorite players. I left the house in time to catch the 11:01 bus which would get me to the park an hour before first pitch. My timing was perfect, the bus was in sight. I took my phone out, so I could text the friends that I was going to meet for the concert to make plans. I didn't have my phone. The next bus comes half an hour later, so I figured I'd probably see the pre-game. Instead the bus hit terrible traffic in Flushing. I got to my seat right before first pitch was scheduled. I went with my usual baseball partner, Alan, he has full season tickets. Alan's priorities are quite different than mine. He didn't see why it was a big deal to miss the ceremony. He chose obstructed view seats because they are easy to make a quick exit from.

All that was forgotten when the Mets' god of thunder, Thor, Noah Syndergaard took the mound. I predicted that his first pitch would exceed 100 MPH. I was wrong it was 98. He struck out the first batter on three pitches. That boded well. He is by far the Mets' best player. They are highly suspect at many positions. They were playing the Cardinals who have many players better than the best Met position player. Things don't always go by the book, that's why they play the games. Thor pitched six innings and struck out 10. That speaks of domination, but he gave up four runs, yielding two home runs did not help. If that's all you heard, you'd figure the Mets lost. They didn't! They won 8 – 4. Every position player got a hit. They didn't hit any homers but there was always a man on base. I'm not worried about Thor, he gave up only five fly balls, it's just unlucky that two of them left the park. I'm paying more attention to the 10:0 K:BB ratio. He is elite.

I had problems getting a signal on my phone on the ride down but managed to reach most of my friends going to the concert and arranged to meet Gene & Isabel and Kevin at HB Burger, right next to Town Hall, for dinner. I didn't manage to meet up with Gene & Isabel on the subway. They were at the game too. What we had here was failure to communicate.

I love HB Burger and it's my regular place to meet before a show at Town Hall. The thing is that it doesn't have good reviews. I don't know why; their burgers are great. I was delighted when Gene suggested it. Dinner was great as was the conversation.

When we were done we headed over to the concert. We sat in the loge. Gene & Isabel sat in the mirror image of our box, we were house right. Kevin and I were joined by Chris, Sharon, and two people I didn't know. Fred and Gail were there too but they were down front in the orchestra. I'm blind so I couldn't spot them.

There was no opener. There was no intermission. Cry Cry Cry, Dar Williams, Lucy Kaplansky, and Richard Shindell, played beautiful music for just short of two hours. This is their first Cry Cry Cry tour in 19 years. I saw them last June at Clearwater. Dar and Richard are on my see as often as I can list. Lucy is the one I've known the longest; I know her from her Fast Folk days. Can I assume all My Gentle Readers are familiar with Cry Cry Cry? They are a folk supergroup that play a mix of their own songs and covers. Their first album, 20 years ago, was almost all covers.

The best part of the show was when they left their separate mics and gathered around a single condenser mic. As they made the move Richard told us that he bought the mic for a concert in Iowa. I was sure that meant they were going to play Iowa. They did, but one song later. They missed the segue. Sometimes I like the hits. Dar singing Iowa with or without Richard and Lucy is always a highlight. Like rooting for the home team it's a great bonding experience for the audience. When we sing, "And I'd do it again," we are one.

They finished with Auld Lang Syne not the version we usually hear on New Year's Eve, but the older Scottish melody that I post every year on New Year's Eve. I wonder if they learned it from Eddi Reader. That is the definitive version of the song. I'm not going to post it but just search for Eddi Reader Scottish Parliament. She sang it at the opening ceremony. Thinking about that made me realize that I had never asked an obvious question. If there is a Scottish Parliament is there a Scottish Funkadelic? Yes, I wrote all that as the straight line to the joke.

I resisted hanging out too long after the show. It's a long ride home. Today I'm going to therapy and then I have to prepare for my Fantasy League Draft. That's tomorrow. I always wait to the last minute; but this is ridiculous.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 30, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!