I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 29, 2014 - 12:59 p.m.

Episode 2: Attack of the Crohn's.

Welcome to an I've been sick and will try very hard to not gross you out edition of Wise Madness. I had a big day planned yesterday. Before school lunch with Erika. In the evening a musical doubleheader, Tara O'Grady then Aoife O'Donovan at Rockwood 3. Instead I got the first hint of a Crohn's attack Thursday evening. Usually if I take 20 mg of prednisone it goes away. But Friday morning I was still sick. I waited till I had to leave to meet Erika but realized I was too sick to eat and called her to cancel. I went to school and taught but it was rough. I had trouble concentrating and made too many mistakes. If I hadn't already missed classes I'd have canceled.

After class I went back to my office and finished blogging and posted it. Then I decided that I couldn't make it to the concerts. I texted Kevin who I was seeing Aoife with and let him know. This made me very sad. But I knew it was what I had to do. Yes I might as well be in pain listening to music than at home but I knew I'd likely be throwing up too. That I don't want to do in public.

On the train ride home I was proved right. Luckily I have some control of when I throw up. I waited till I changed trains and did it into a garbage can. And that paid off by getting me a seat on the crowded train. Somebody had seen me and gave me her seat.

I got home turned my space heater on as I get cold when I'm sick and spent most of my evening in bed except for bathroom visits. which I won't go into detail about. See I know TMI. My landlady was a doll and cleaned up when I made a mess.

I spent much of the evening in the hypnogogic state, drifting in and out of sleep. That's actually pleasant. Then I watched another Cadfael. It was a struggle staying awake the entire show.

I woke up a few times in the night and there were hints of my intestines clearing up and when I woke up in the morning it had. I slept late, 9:50. My plan is to stay in bed all day till I go up to Irvington to see Richard Shindell I;m marching at the show. I'll have to call Carter and arrange getting there. Normally I might walk up from the train station but it's up a steep hill and I am weak. I am not going to miss the show.

I'm going to keep this short as I am still weak and need my rest. Oh I will talk about food even though I might not eat it now. It's near Passover and I took advantage of it. I went looking for matzos. I always buy Streits but the Yehudi was so cheap I couldn't resist, 5 lbs for under $4. Then I needed U-Bet and it was right there in the Passover section. For Pesach they have kosher for Pesach bottles. They are made with sugar not corn syrup and they were on sale and they had the special dark chocolate! A triple win.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 29, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!