I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 26, 2014 - 12:17 p.m.

Playing Cricket

Good timing. A friend on FB said she as bored. I told her to write. I'm following my own advice. Not that I was bored. When I was a little kid waiting on line at the World's Fair and was bored my father told me about some author, I forgot who, who said that an intelligent person should never be bored. You should be able to entertain yourself. So I will never admit I'm bored.

When I wake up I think about what I'm going to blog about. For the life of me I couldn't remember what I did yesterday, only that it made me feel good. But the fog lifted and I remembered in two phases. That isn't like me. I am usually instantly alert when I awake. I think it's because I had a very active night dreaming.

I had a two part day with an interregnum. Yes I'm the kind of person that uses interregnum. I am not the kind that can spell it. Thank god for spell check. OK thank some geeks for spell check. Look a bunny! I can stay focused.

The first part I met a friend for hot chocolate. I always give names but I decided I should ask for if that's OK when I'm just having a t�te-�-t�te with someone and I forgot to ask. Stupid as we talked about blogging. We went to The City Bakery. I had never been there. We had not a cup but a large shot of hot chocolate. Why? It's not regular hot chocolate but super thick and rich. It is to regular hot chocolate what Turkish coffee is to regular coffee. That will give you the perfect picture of it. Well if you've had Turkish coffee. Or Greek coffee which is pretty much the same thing.

We then went to Books of Wonder and looked at children's books. Then walked down to the Village where she was meeting someone for dinner. So why did that make me feel good. Well aside from the chocolate. We all know that chocolate makes me feel good. It's because we didn't meet to do anything, we met to enjoy each other's company. I so rarely do that. And I did enjoy her company. Our conversation was not off the rack.

After that I got on the train to the to see Cricket Tell the Weather at the Rock Shop in Park slope. I planned on eating there. One problem. on the subway I started feeling a Crohn's attack coming on. By the time I was off the subway it was in full swing. I had almost an hour till the show so I sat on a bench and waited for it to pass. I passed the time talking to Katrina. But then it got worse and I decided to go home. I walked into the Rock Shop to give the guys my regrets. But then I saw they were the first band up not the third like I thought so I didn't have to wait long. Then Andrea saw me and came over to say hi. Then I decided. OK I can be sick there as well as I can be sick at home as long as I could get a seat and I could.

At first I sat on one o the benches on the side and zoned out. What's the name of that Vulcan state that Mr. Spock goes into? I did that. But then I heard Doug talking about his banjo playing an was lured into the conversation. He hadn't even seen me sitting there as I was so withdrawn into myself. Sure I'm distinctive looking but most of that is my manic mannerism. If Animal from the Muppets was sitting next to you sitting still you'd never notice him. The best part was when he brought up Indian music and I mentioned Sneh. Now I can never remember Sneh's full name. The first time I saw him, by chance, at Rockwood someone in his band said to just call him Sneh. Doug says, "you mean Snehasish Mozumder ? He studied under him! Sneh is a mandolin player and the best instrumentalist I know. He's totally amazing but before you click on the link be warned. It violates the 11th commandment, "thou shalt not use autoplay." I can't even see how to turn it off. As much as I love his music I don�t to hear it when I'm listening to opera.

Cricket Tell the Weather describe themselves as "progressive bluegrass." I guess that works as a quick tag and I have called them newgrass, a cooler name, myself but it doesn't tell the story. What they play is to bluegrass as rock and roll is to the blues. Like Crooked Still they incorporate so much more into it. And seeing them on consecutive nights wants me to book them together and bill it as Crooked Tell the Weather or Cricket Still. Somebody make this happen.


Jason


Douglas


Not the usual bass player. Don�t' know her name.


Andrea


Andrea green with envy or a green Orion slave girl?

Even though I was sick I loved the show. The obstruction started to pass while I sat but did not go away. When I got up at the end of the show my legs were wobbly so I didn't stay to talk. For once I made a quick exit. When I got home I took my 20 mg of prednisone and it worked. I got better so fast I was able to eat dinner an hour later. I had chicken garlic sausages.

I like not being depressed. There really is so much to enjoy in life. O brave new world that has such creatures in it. No I am not misquoting. You should know me better than that. I am correctly quoting the Star Trek episode, Is There in Truth no Beauty. I just know somebody is going to catch me on misquoting that. To err is human to forgive, divine. What kind of Jewish atheist am I? I am quoting a Pope.

Now for breakfast. Disaster! I have no bacon in the house. I have sausages so all is not lost. Which do I feel like an omelet or eggs over easy? I think the omelet.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 26, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!