I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 03, 2014 - 11:18 a.m.

Rained Out Cricket

OK I'm going to try and write this fast as I have to leave here in an hour and a half and I haven't made breakfast. Let's see if that works

Yesterday I was the first of the Mad Sq Music Series. It was a blue grass double header. I am totally blanking on the name of the headliner who I am sure is great but I don't know. I was going because Cricket Tell The Weather was the opener. I got a great seat down front but was told that I couldn't put the plastic table cloth I use as a tarp down as it would "solarize the grass." I had my stadium chair so I was fine but I was meeting Heather and it meant she had to sit on the grass. Stop giving me looks that I should have given her my seat. I'm old and need back support. I said to not give me looks. Cut that out.

We didn't actually sit much. We went backstage to talk to Maggi. I wanted to talk to the band but they were in the dressing room. So we walked around the part a bit. While we were sitting Suzanne came over to say hi She wasn't even going to the show but was in the neighborhood and wanted to see if anyone she knew was there and was rewarded with me. Richard sat down right near us.. And then Maggi's assistant whose name I always forget and I asked her last night and forgot again and I really hate not having a brain as I like her and she deserves for me to remember her name came over and told us the show was delayed because lightning was forecast. It wasn't even raining so we left the oval and sat on a bench near the park entrance. Then all of a sudden the rain came and we sought shelter in the subway. I was surprised more people didn't do that. When the rain let up we emerged and checked what was going on. They said that if nothing changed the show would start in 20 minutes We walked around the park some more and they kept putting off the start time Then at 7:20 there was more thunder so we knew they still couldn't start so we left. Very sad. Second time I planned on seeing Cricket Tell the Weather and missed them.

Oh while we were walking around I saw Jason from the band get on line to order food from a stand. I said, "Hey Jason" but he didn't turn around. I tapped him on the shoulder and he did and didn't recognize me. Good reason. It wasn't Jason. He had a twin at the park. I felt stupid. Well that's nothing new, I'm an idiot.

Heather wanted to go to the library so we went up to the Mid Manhattan. Once again I was an idiot and in the dark and rain got turned around and walked down 42nd Street not 5th Avenue. I have never ever done that before. Avenues don't look like streets It's two way. How could I do that.? Oh right, I'm an idiot.

We got to the library and when Heather checked out the YA section I saw Order of Odd Fish by James Kennedy and told her that she had to read it. She took it out.

And that was my evening. I never got anything to eat so I just stopped at Popeye's. They got my order wrong. I wanted dark meat and got a breast, wing, and thigh. I will live.

WQXR played the 1812 Overture yesterday and I posted about it on Facebook. Susie from my favorite circus punk marching band, Mucca Pazza "liked" the post. I said, "Susie. I want to see Mucca Pazza cover the 1812 overture with a real cannon. That would simply be the greatest thing that ever happened."

She replied "Oh boy. Careful what you ask for. And come to chicago in September. Because it's actually happening." And it is, Rethink, Redefine, Reimagine. At first I only saw the Monday show which I knew I wouldn't be able to go to I was going to use that as the ultimate proof that there is no god. But there's the Saturday show and if Carey and Neal can put me up and our schedules allow I can fly to Chicago and see it with them and that would be the best thing that ever happened in the history of not only this universe but any universe. That will not prove there is a god. It will prove that Mucca Pazza, Susie, Carey, Neal, and I are all awesome.



I have written quite a bit here of death.. The attitude I inherited from my parents is uncommon..We accept death as inevitable and final. When someone dies is the survivors who need sympathy. Someone very dear to someone very dear to me just died. I hardly knew the deceased but I had tears in my eyes for my friend whom I love.. Why does anyone bother to write of death. John Donne said it all. I am diminished.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 03, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!