I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 14, 2015 - 12:15 p.m.

Gypsies Tramps and Caravan of Thieves

Ugh, somebody started using power tools then hammering at 8 AM today. Finished by 8:30. Why? I couldn't fall back asleep. I'll crash later. That's exactly the kind of pattern I'm trying to avoid. It doesn't help that I was up way too late last night for no good reason. I need to fix my sleep schedule.

So what did I do yesterday? Come on this is an easy one. I can remember. Nah just kidding, even I can't forget seeing Caravan of Thieves; they played at Rockwood Music Hall last night. The show was at 7:00 but as I was doing merch I was supposed to be there at 6:00. The was delayed so I was late. I didn't get there till 6:02. Yes I'm annoying. Now you don't have to feel guilty for thinking that. I look out for My Gentle Readers.

The merch was already set up so I just had to get a run down on prices and such. Damn. Just realized I forgot to get a sticker. I need one for my new computer. It's still too naked. I used to cover my car's bumpers, now I cover my laptop.

After sound check I went to the Green Room with them. The opening act came in too. The bass player looked familiar. In a miracle I almost immediately realized where I knew him from. I had not seen him perform on stage or met him socially. He was at Coco's party last weekend where he and his brother led the singing. His name is Adam and he's the music director at the First UU Church of Brooklyn where First Acoustics is held. So yes I'm proud that I remember who somebody is and had to tell you about it.

Caravan of Thieves is on the short list of greatest acts that I discovered at John Platt's On Your Radar. I had never heard of them before I saw them there. By the time they finished the set I was saying; "This is what music is supposed to be." There are many ways that music is supposed to be and what they do is one of them. Damn! I just remember something I wanted to tell them after the show. I mentally write Wise Madness all the time. I wrote that last line during one of the songs. So what else is music supposed to be? It's supposed to be Woody Guthrie, The Beatles, and Mozart. Perhaps all music is movements of one great opus. We need all of them to complete it. We need Caravan of Thieves and Pa Pa Pa Pa from The Magic Flute. Then it hit me! That would be a great song for CoT to cover! A duet with Carrie and Fuzz! OK now I told them. Not quite as doing it in person. But when it's on their next album you know who to thank.

I'm totally serious about that. Caravan of Thieves doesn't have many boundaries. I usually describe them as Gypsy Swing but they stray far afield from that. They do ballads and Gypsy Swing does not usually include percussion solos on buckets, cans, and water cooler bottles. There are ways they remind me of Circus Punk Marching Band, Mucca Pazza, they create seeming chaos with order buried deep inside it. The combine musical virtuosity with silliness. They are pretty much in my sweet spot.

Rockwood 2 is the worst place to sell merch. I was set up in the back room a above Rockwood 3. The problem is hardly anyone exits that way. The subway is out the front door. I would never go that way unless I intended to hang out with the band or my friends after the show. I need to find a better way of doing it.

Now on to Game of Thrones. I’m totally caught up. I got the feel for the show now and see where things are going. I knew sometime in late season 3 or early season 4 where Tyrian would end up. In the last episode when Daenerys and company were on the arena floor there was no other way to end that scene. Pretty good, no spoilers. I have my guesses where the entire series will end up. I have not read the books so I might be way off base. But I don't think so.

But now the problem is I have to wait for tonight's episode to come on HBO.Go. Will that be tonight? Tomorrow? And after that I have to wait till next season just like everyone else. So what show should I start on next, something on HBO or Amazon Prime. Any suggestions?

Just realized I have less time than I thought. I am seeing Villa Palagonia this afternoon. They are at the Macdougal Street stage at 3 PM. I am ashamed. I didn't know that Macdougal street intersected 8th avenue. I thought the name changed at W 4th street. But it picks up again for one block north of the square. I have been there only several hundred times in my life. At least I can find it with my eyes closed. Actually I'm so blind it doesn't make much of a difference.

Now for French toast. I still have the challah and every time I buy it I have to make French toast twice.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 14, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!