I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 20, 2017 - 10:39 a.m.

It's a Conspiracy I Tell You!

I've been writing Wise Madness for almost 16 years, the toughest part is still starting. I find myself using the same style for a while, then getting tired of it and working on a new one. This is working on a new one. It has to be something that doesn't take much effort to ease my way into the rest of the entry. That's why of late I've been writing about how I feel at that instant. I always know that but it's time to move on. This will work for today.

I didn't go out yesterday. I wanted to shop but the weather was bad. I don't see rain in the forecast so I will today. The most important thing about yesterday was breakfast. I told you that I was going to experiment with sausageeggandcheese on garlic bread. I made it. It's wonderful. I planned my restaurant while I was eating it. It's an upscale fast food restaurant that serves nothing but breakfast sandwiches on garlic bread. As soon as you get in the bread is put on a conveyer belt toaster. When it comes out the melted garlic butter with olive oil is applied to the bread, along with cheese if you want it and it's put through the second toaster. You have your choice of cheeses. You can just have your classic slice of American Cheese on top of the egg and meet but you can also have a choice of cheeses toasted on the bread. I made it with Monterey Jack yesterday in addition to the American cheese. Extras cost more of course. The eggs will be made after you order just like at bodegas and food carts, not premade like MacDonald's. They will be prepared over easy with the yolk cooked just enough to be a gel and not run. Mine ran yesterday, I have to work on the timing. You'll have your choice of eggs, conventional or organic. There will be a hefty mark-up on the organics just like when you buy them at the store where they are three times more expensive. I think we can manage to be gluten free but I don't see a way of being vegan. Any ideas how we can do that? Everyone gets a breath mint with their sandwich so you don't leave smelling like garlic. I'm going to be a billionaire. At least I'll have a new breakfast obsession.

Now that you are well fed I can get to the serious topic, conspiracy theories. Ideological bubbles on both the left and right are replete with conspiracy theories; Chemtrails, AIDS was created in a laboratory, global warming is a hoax, 9/11 was an inside job, the government is coming to take away our guns and bibles, military training maneuvers are a plan for federal takeover of Texas, liberals like trains because they are trying to turn people into collectivists, everything that Trump does is to divert us from something else Trump does, people just disagree which is which, The NOAA and Weather Service played up Hurricane to promote their climate change agenda and to sell emergency supplies in Florida stores, we didn't land on the moon, and so on. You know people that believe at least a few of these things. You might believe a few of these things. Where do these ideas come from? I have a theory; it could be bunnies. Sorry, that's a reflex, blame Buffy the Vampire Slayer

My theory is that the proliferation of conspiracy theories is a conspiracy. I don’t know who is behind it or what the goal is but I know how it works. A team of psychologists and social scientists study people to determine what theories will conform to people's biases and so appeal to them. They then disseminate them through multiple media, originally it was just in conversation, magazine articles, and pamphlets. Now it's primarily on social media. They repost things posing as different people from different parts of the world because simple repetition makes people more likely to believe things. They create buzz talking the theories up. "Hey, did you hear that Obama was born in Kenya? I knew he wasn't a real American. I read it the Daily Racist." This conspiracy doesn't need millions of people involved. It doesn't need thousands, perhaps not even hundreds. I'm sure the people who disseminate it aren't even aware they are part of a conspiracy. They just know they are paid to do a whispering campaign.

Why would the person or more likely cabal, do this? To destroy the credibility of institutions. To believe the conspiracies means to not believe mainstream newspapers, magazines, and television news. They have to all be in on the conspiracy or fooled by it, the Times, BBC, PBS, Washington Post, AP, Reuters, etc. You can't trust what the government tells you. You can't trust scientists. You can't trust economists or historians.

It sounds like paranoia, trusting no one, but it's not. It's trusting the people telling you about the conspiracies. That is the key to the plan. Once there is no one credible to argue against them the Cabal will guide people in the direction they want. It might not be an ideology, not fascists or communists or anarchists or libertarians. I suspect it's more personal, it's just to give them power. That's why they manipulate people of all ideologies. It's why they promote things like bigfoot which isn't political at all. They just want people to lose trust in everyone but them. Then they will have a monopoly on perceived truth, which will be lies. It's beyond Orwell's wildest dreams.

I have no idea who is behind it; they have muddied the waters. Could it be the Koch brothers? Sure, but it could also be the people making fidget spinners. That would explain so much. But those are not serious guesses, I make no claim to special knowledge. I'm just telling you to be aware. They're coming! You're next! Keep watching the skies!


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 20, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!