I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 10, 2018 - 11:13 a.m.

What Word Follows Rainbow and French in Titles?

I don't know what I'm going to write so I'll start with the idiot story I just remembered. I bought bagels yesterday. They are sitting next to me. I forgot to cut and freeze them. I'll toast one up for breakfast and then cut and freeze the rest. They are never as good, toasting doesn't totally undo going stale, but you can't unscramble an egg; entropy always wins.

As you might have inferred yesterday's expedition involved going to Bagel Bob's on University Place for half-priced bagels. Sure, it takes an hour and a half but there are no good bagels on City Island or anyplace near here. Bagel Bob's is both good and cheap, even full-priced they are only $1.10. I am not going to tell you what they cost on Monday's after 4 PM when they are half-priced. I will leave that as an exercise for the reader. I expect you to do the math even if it isn't going to be on the test.

I also went to my PO Box at Columbus Circle. You know what's even worse than junk mail? Junk mail addressed to somebody else. I threw it out instead of returning it to the Post Office.

I needed to buy light bulbs and don't know where to buy them anymore. I ended up at Home Depot. Who sells reasonably priced bulbs? I experimented and bought a pair of LED bulbs. They are still too expensive. I needed one to replace a compact fluorescent that wasn't bright enough. I did something slightly reckless, I unscrewed it without turning the light off. Something happened that I've never seen before, the bulb exploded It wasn't as bad as it sounds. Just one small section of glass coil blew off with a pop. I wasn't hurt. I turned off the light and replaced it. Any idea how that could happen?

I just made a connection that I never made before; it's about making connections. When Albert Einstein was young, before 1905 when he revolutionized physics with his three epic papers on Brownian motion, the photoelectric effect, and The Theory of Special Relativity, a friend of his felt that Einstein needed to meet another of his friends, Franz Kafka. They met in Prague and spent an afternoon together. I'd love to be a fly on the wall overhearing that conversation. Neither Einstein nor Kafka were famous at the time but that mutual friend saw the original genius in both. I have always felt that was wondrous.

What I just realized is that is exactly what I strive to do. There are times it just hits me that two people need to meet. It just happened twice with Mari Black. First, I felt that Gidge needed to see her. When he did he immediately invited her to play at his house concert series, Spiral Sounds Concerts. Then when she played Spiral Sounds I decided that Mari and Amy were kindred spirits and needed to meet. Amy came with me and they did hit it off. That's not nearly as remarkable as Einstein and Kafka as Mari and Amy are both Scottish Fiddlers, didn't take a genius to figure out they had things in common. But still it made me happy. My therapist has me making a list of my successes, many are of that sort, putting A together with B. It's not always people; sometimes it's realizing that someone needs to read a book, see a film or play, or hear a musician. I get a feeling of satisfaction every time the connection is made, and I see that I was right.

I think that I'm good at this but if I'm honest with myself I know I can't possibly know that. There's a huge selection bias, I remember the successes. I'm reminded of them because if the connection is made the person or people involved talk about it. What inspired me to write this was something that happened at Falcon Ridge. When I was making the Budgiedome schedule I put Martin Swinger and Pepper & Sassafras, back to back. I wanted Martin to end with "Consider the Oyster" and Jeffrey and Wendy to start with Wendy's song about the fruit fly. I called it the Invertebrate Set. I thought it would work musically and I thought they were kindred spirits. They just went on a mini-tour together doing an extended Invertebrate Set. There are also songs about vertebrates. Maybe I'm not better at this than other people but sometimes I get it right and that makes me happy.

Breakfast also makes me happy; it's time to eat. I'm going to make another connection and get bacon together with eggs. They might not get along, but that combination will work for me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 10, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!