I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 22, 2014 - 12:52 p.m.

Cinnamon Boy

I slept late today. of course late was 9:30 just about when I used to always get up. It's all relative At least I'm well rested.

I didn't do much yesterday. Heather is sick and I went over there to mother her. Well accordion to traditional gender roles I fathered her too. Her dishwasher isn't draining and I tried to fix it. If the problem were a clog I felt good about my ability to take care of it. I cleaned out all the drains and it didn't empty. The problem is the drain pump and I don't feel competent to fix that. I could do it but I'd need tools and have to read up on what to do. She has a landlord, I'll let him take care of it.

I made dinner. Soup somehow seems right when you are sick so I made my usual, my spicy garlic, potato, sausage soup. The heat comes from red pepper. I brought that from home along with the chicken stock and garlic. I usually make two portions because there were two of us and I wanted her to have leftovers so she wouldn't have to cook today I made four. I don't measure things. I use my judgment. I'm usually very good. But yesterday the soup wasn't hot in the peppery sense I thought I used too little pepper so I took some more to sprinkle in my soup. Heather noticed it wasn't red pepper, it was cinnamon. They are similar colors and come in identical jars. And most importantly I'm an idiot. Well it wasn't bad. Heather liked it more than I did. I like hot. I added some chili powder to mine.

Heather took a nap when I got there and after being stymied by the dishwasher I watched TV. I don't get to do that at home. First I watched Criminal Minds. Why did nobody tell me that Jennifer Love Hewitt was now on it. I've had a crush on her for ages. actually she didn't look so good on it. I don't know what she did. But I'm still going to marry her.

Then I watched the new Flash. They changed the premise quite a bit from what I grew up with but I always loved the Flash and I still do..

After dinner Heather wanted to watch The Gilmore Girls. I watched it with her. She was unaware that if a man watches the The Gilmore Girls with a woman they are legally engaged. I texted Carey a photo I took of the TV because I knew she's be excited I was watching it. But she never heard of the GG rule either. Come on people, it's part of both English Common law and the Napoleonic Code. If a man watches the Gilmore Girls with a woman they are at least engaged in all fifty states, including Louisiana, and the District of Columbia. In seven states, MT, AL, SC, AZ, KS, OK, and MS, they are married. I'm not sure if it is true of two men watching together in states where same-sex marriage is legal. That might be an open issue. I'm not sure where I stand on that. There's a lot of philosophical implications.

Heather and I are not getting married. We ended the engagement shortly after the show was over. There really should be a humoring a sick friend exception to the law. But the law is the law. I'm glad we don't live in one of the states where we'd be married. Guam is weird. There I'd have to become her butler.

Facebook has its uses. I just became Facebook friends with Debbie. She lived next door to me till I was 5. The first friends I remember, are her, her sister Kim, and Arthur who lived in the house on the other side of me. I have seen her once since then. We've had no other contact. Have things changed? I would go over to their house on my own. My parents would trust me to do that I don't think most parents would nowadays. We both remember the games we used to play, Giant steps aka Mother May I, tag, freeze tag, statues, and red light green light.. When I went to their house I wouldn't ring the bell. I would rattle the door knob? Why? I wouldn�t do that with Arthur. Perhaps I was too hort to reach the bell when I started going there and it became a habit.

I've talked to Debbie on FB the last couple of days. We've had some substantial talks. It feels good to reconnect with someone from my earliest memories Oh one more thing. Darla on the little rascals always reminded me of Debbie and my mental picture of her is basically Darla. One of these days I'll write about memory and the tricks it plays on us.

I'm having a bad anxiety last few days. I have an email from a friend about the house concert I'm going to tonight that I can't open.. Rationally I know there I no reason not to but every time I get that feeling in the pit of my stomach. It' mot just memory. Our entire brain plays tricks on us.

Now to make breakfast. Bacon might not be good for my body but does my soul a world of good.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 22, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!