I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 08, 2016 - 10:52 a.m.

Christine and Don and Ted and Alice

Dateline Upper Darby: As you can see I'm still at LORi and Steve's. I'm going home today. After posting yesterday I showed it to LORi so she could see the error of her ways. I forgot to mention that her soul faces eternal damnation if she does not change her ways. Just read my last entry to find what I'm talking about.

Last night we went to the Lansdowne Folk Club to see Christine Lavin and Don White. This is the reason I timed my visit for now. First LORi and I joined her college friends who have names, names I learned, names I remember now, John and Maureen, for dinner. I'm so proud of myself. LORi and I both had apple cider pulled pork. It was good but I prefer barbecue. The place called itself a deli but it was more like a diner or coffee shop.

We got to the venue early so went downstairs to wait for doors. After sitting around a short while I heard my name called, it was Christine. She ate her dinner and joined us. John and Maureen have been following Christine longer than me, they brought a vinyl version of Future Fossils her first studio album. The album is from 1984, I discovered her in '89 I still think of myself as a newbie. Wow I looked up Christine's discography and lost 45 minutes to the internet. I'm back.

I didn't know he was coming but when I turned around I found Paul sitting next to me. I had meant to ask him if he was coming but somehow that got lost in all my anxieties. I was glad he could make it. Steve had saved us a table at the show and Paul joined us.

We went up right before the show started. There was a opener, whose name I of course lost, he combined standup comedy with funny songs. Then Christine did a set. Then a break. In the second half Don did a short set then Chris and Don did a song swap joining each other. There were many laughs. Chris wrote a new song between the start and end of the show. It's about organ transplants and she asked people in the audience to suggest organs, heart and kidneys were excluded. I someone didn't suggest something. I should have said something like pineal gland. That seems inherently funny.

After the show Steve and I stayed for breakdown, LORi went home. Very sadly there were no leftover pretzels. That's because we had a packed house. I think there were 152 tickets sold. That does not include the volunteers. It was so nice to see so many people at a coffeehouse show. It was nice that Chris and Don could pack them in like that.

Today's agenda is that Lori and I will go to Perkins for breakfast. I'll go to the bank and get some money out. I called the bank, that was scary, and they reset my card. I was locked out because I had put in the wrong PIN too many times. So weird, I had just done it right but then repeatedly used old ones or inverted the digits. All of which is appropriate as Christine has a song about remembering her passwords. When she got locked out of Facebook I was the one she called to help her get her account back.

I should see if LORi is up now and go play with her.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 08, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!