I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 18, 2018 - 2:21 p.m.

Ireland and Israel

I woke up at a normal time, 8:18 but I was still sleepy all morning. This is starting to get me nervous. I decided to eat and more importantly have coffee before writing. Then I waited too long, the coffee is wearing off. I can do this.

I tried something new for breakfast. I had poached eggs on 5-cheese Texas toast. I've done it on garlic toast topped it with cheese. This time I added garlic. It turned out great. Give it a try. I'm my affection for Cheez-Whiz is fading; this is now more to my taste. I would still rather add cheese, real cheese, to garlic toast than the other way around. The problem is that Aldi always sells out of the garlic toast. You'd think they'd pick that up and buy more of it, but they don't. There is something I'm missing here. It's more likely that I don't understand something than that the people that stock the store for a living are idiots.

It's the day after St. Patrick's Day and once again I forgot to post a Carvel Cookie O'Puss add till the next day. Some people think that the most important thing about St. Paddy's day is that it is the one day that Cookie Puss becomes Cookie O'Puss, but they are wrong. That's the second most important thing. Growing up in my family I learned the true significance of the holiday. It's one of the two days of the year, both near an equinox where God designates the chosen people. There are only two choices, the Jews and the Irish. That's where the Abie's Irish Rose trope comes from; when a Jewish man marries an Irish woman, they guarantee that at least one of them and all the children will be of the chosen. Twice ever year god renders judgement; once on St. Patrick's Day and once on Yom Kippur. The weather indicates the choice. If it was nice on St. Paddy's or raining on Yom Kippur my parents would say, "We are no longer the chosen people." If the weather was foul on St. Paddy's or beautiful on Yom Kippur they'd say, "We are still the chosen people." We are Jewish. If you have doubts or objections to this remember, you are calling my dear departed parents liars. As a matter of honor, I will have to challenge you to a duel I'm an atheist, I don't even believe in god, but I know this theory is true. Yesterday was clear and cool but not cold. The Irish are the Chosen People. Good thing I'm a very good Irishman for a Jew. By listening to the music and loving Yeats, Shaw, Wilde, and Swift, I get some of the Irish aura. Too bad I don't like Joyce. I won't like to get chosen.

My writing sound track is WFUV's Ceol na nGael. I listened to A Thousand Welcomes earlier. The hosts, Ryan, Megan, and Kathleen will back up my choseness.

Here's a tip so as not to get on the wrong side of the current chosen people; It's St. Paddy's Day not St. Patty's day. Paddy brought Christianity to Ireland, Patty's only seen the sights a girl can see from Brooklyn Heights. Paddy is a diminutive of Padraig, the Irish version of Patrick. Green bagels are not a blending of cultures but an abomination.

This will all be on the test next St Padraig's Day. By then perhaps the Jews will once again be the chosen people. If not, I need to find an Irish woman.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 18, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!