I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 23, 2018 - 11:12 a.m.

I Dream of Mummy

Dreams need to hire someone to do continuity like the do in TV and movies. Last night I had a dream where I was differentiating, later I got a different answer. I then realized it was because this time I was integrating. It made the whole dream unbelievable. This happens all the time to all people; it doesn't usually involve doing calculus.

The government shut down is over and most of what I have seen ignores a big part of it; CHIP, the program that gives medical coverage to children was funded. It was the easiest piece to compromise on as the majority of congress, both Democrats and Republicans, are in favor of it. The only reason it wasn't passed is that GOP decided to use the children as a bargaining chip.

The majority of the members of congress are in favor of protecting Dreamers, the problem is that most members of the Republican caucus aren't. Things would run much smoother if the GOP would drop the Hastert Rule. When child molester, Dennis Hastert, was the Speaker of the House, he instituted the rule that only bills that the majority of the GOP caucus supported would be brought to a vote. The GOP has followed the rule, with a few exceptions, ever since. It makes governing as opposed to political power difficult. It's often called the majority of the majority rule and the only way to ensure its demise is to make sure that the GOP is no longer the majority. It requires one other thing; the Democrats have to resist the temptation to follow it too. When people are treated unfairly they can react two ways; they can vow to never be like that, or they can wait till they have the power and then get their revenge. The world would be a better place if people didn't do the latter.

I have plans to go out tonight but I'm thinking of taking it easy and staying in. It means missing The Dead Sea Sisters and Michael Graves, two great bluegrass acts, but part of me wants to stay in. It doesn't help that the shows are late. The Dead Sea Sisters go on at 9 and Michael Daves at 10. It's late enough that I can decide after I eat dinner. I don't have to make a commitment now.

I'm a bit sleepy and keep flitting into hypnogogic dreams. I'm not asleep, I'm in the state where I'm about to fall asleep and my thoughts take flight without a pilot. Somehow thinking about some friends led me to seeing a ghost mummy walk through a person and a wall That happened when I closed my eyes to think about what I should write. It's what I decided to write about. I also decided to not be afraid to keep this short. I'm going to eat breakfast and maybe go shopping. There's no great need, I went shopping yesterday, but I am craving the garlic Texas toast from Aldi and I'm all out. I guess I could just make garlic bread. That got me hungry. I'm going to eat breakfast.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 23, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!