I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 22, 2017 - 11:25 a.m.

Oh! Carol

Yesterday I went to one of the recharging my emotional batteries events; caroling Washington Square Park with Terre Roche and friends. There's double meaning in that as there are friends of Terre Roche and friends of mine. There are also friends of my friends. Every year I invite people to join me; last night might have set the record for attendance by my extended social circle. This is dangerous as I might forget someone. If that's you, remember that I'm an idiot and it doesn't mean I don't love you.

  • Terre - Well duh
  • Lisa - Well duh, I know her through Terre
  • Barbara - Can I count her as a friend? She's one of the original three Carolling Carollers. They started in 1973; It was Terre, Suzzy, and Barbara. She took part in all the Bottom Line shows but I had to introduce myself to her. Let's call her a future friend.
  • Sandi - I met her caroling years ago. She videos and photographs it.
  • Fred - Has joined me every year
  • Katherine - Every year starting one year later.
  • Gidge - Ditto
  • Deb - Ditto
  • Laura from JC - Every year but a later start
  • David - First timer!
  • Laura from WFUV - First Timer!
  • Rita from WFUV - Laura's wife, this was a surprise Xmas gift for her!
  • Alex - A friend of David that I met last night but is now my FB friend, so he makes the list.
  • Maria - First timer! She doesn't live in New York, but her family does. I saw she was in town and invited her.
  • Maria's cousin. Sorry Maria's cousin I forgot your name.
  • Diana - First Timer!
  • Diana's Dog - First Timer!
Any night singing with, so many friends will be special. You should join us next year. One of the best interactions happened with strangers. A group of young women came up to me as we were gathering to sing; Alyssa was their spokesperson.
Alyssa: Are you going to sing?
Me: Yes, we are.
Alyssa: When?
Me: We're getting ready to start now.
Alyssa: Can we stay and listen?
Me: We includes you.
They were so excited. They got lyric sheets and joined the throng. I was introduced to one of the others and forgot her name. I know it starts Br. Alyssa and Br; If by chance you find this blog, friend me on Facebook. Isn't that what the holidays are about? Strangers being treated like friends. We were not just individuals at the same place but part of a whole. There are few things as communal as singing together.

I was fortunate and had a good vision day. That meant I could read the lyrics. Even with them there are songs I have trouble with. Hark Hear the Bells is fast and complex. It's one of my two favorites but I soon get lost. The Holly and the Ivy has strange phrasing, I need someplace to indicate the pauses. David told me it's because it's meant to be sung in parts and they fill in the pauses. My other favorite is King Wenceslaus. It's a beautiful melody and tells a story of generosity; it doesn't get more Christmas than that.

Therefore, Christian men, be sure
Wealth or rank possessing
Ye who now will bless the poor
Shall yourselves find blessing
If only those who decry the War on Christmas would honor the holiday by taking that to heart. I don't believe in god or Jesus, but I believe in message of those lyrics.

We could not carol in our usual space, under the arch. There was an art installation there. That could have gone up any time of the year, why was it put up during Christmas? displacing the tree and our caroling. The people in the neighborhood were not pleased.

After the caroling some of my friends got pictures together. I don't have the big group picture yet but I David sent one he took of Terre and me.


Do you see the Star of Wonder at the top of Terre's head? It's a Festivus miracle!

I'm an idiot and forgot to tag anyone when I posted this so nobody read it. Now it's the next day and not only do I remember but I got the group picture is I'm inserting it. Consider this the extended director's cut.


Unfortunately, nobody could hang after the caroling. I was thinking of going to the Rockefeller Center Tree but instead I just went to the holiday market at Union Square. I didn't get anything buy Sigmund pretzels. There was a reason I wanted to write about the market. It is gone. I went there in the hope of getting some interesting food for dinner. They didn't have anything special, worth the price. They always have great food at the Columbus Circle Market. I didn't stop by this year. If I make the early train after therapy, I'll go to Columbus Circle to pick up my mail and see if there's something I want to get. Otherwise I'll have a home-cooked meal tonight. I'm not sure if I'm getting a ride to the train today. In case I'm not I better post this and eat breakfast. If I get the ride I can leave 50 minutes later. I hope everyone had a great solstice. The shortest day is depressing so we celebrate and put up lights; It's group therapy. It works.

This just in, Sandi's video of us singing the Hallelujah Chorus is up and I can't think of a better way of ending this.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 22, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!