I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 24, 2013 - 12:35 p.m.

Chocolate Foumtain without Bacon

Does anyone know why the default setting on Word is to not allow opening a document in draft view? It's what I always use. What's the point of singling it out as the one view you can't open in? And why won't it let you make "No Spacing" the default style without going through extra steps? I have NEVER used what they call "Normal." I think that every time I use Word.

Last night I went to a chocolate fountain. There was chocolate. It flowed. You dipped things in it and ate it. That pretty much takes up all my brain. A small part is left thinking, "How come there was no bacon to dip?" I have some vague images of other things. Let me see if I can collate them into something akin to a coherent story.

Coco and Bruce put on jazz house concerts during the winter break of the First Acoustics Season. Last night it was Carl Money. My Gentle Listeners might know him as Honor Finnegan's guitar player. That's a side project his real musical home is jazz. He brought a band with him, sax, bass, and drums. The was also a girl singer on some songs, the aforementioned Honor. She makes quite the chanteuse. The concert was recorded, the engineer was Jay Mafale. He came with Catherine, they are two thirds of the award winning YaYas. They were just picked as one of the three Most Wanted acts at this year's Falcon Ridge Emerging Artist Showcase.

Fred came to the show and brought his wife Linda. I remembered her name! There had been some speculation that she either didn't exist or was locked in his attic. She was like Norm's wife Vera from Cheers, often spoken of but never seen.

The point is that I had plenty of people to play with.

I uncharacteristically sat in the back because that's where Fred and Linda sat and near the sound mixer where Jay and Catherine were.

I've been expanding my musical world so was very happy to hear a jazz concert. I never know what kinds of jazz I like and what kinds I don't like. Carl's is one of the kinds I like. To me it evokes hard boiled detectives in smoky jazz joints, Peter Gunn and Mike Hammer. As I think I've said before I don't have the vocabulary to properly discuss jazz. I have to use far more words to describe things since I can't say something like "It's bebop." I obviously wish I could since it is a lot of fun to say bebop. what I like is that there's development. It isn't the same melody repeated over and over. The beginning isn't the same as the end. It takes a theme and looks at it from many angles. Each player adds his own viewpoint.

The show was in two sets Honor sang the last song of the first set, "My Funny Valentine" and I'm guessing she actually did sing it but it's hard to say as in her introduction she mentioned the chocolate fountain. I turned and saw it in the next room and from that point I couldn't really think about anything else. I heard tell that she was great. That isn't surprising as she has a great voice and personality for that kind of song.

The break is totally lost in a chocolate fog. If you can remember a chocolate fountain you weren't really there.

The second half started with Carl solo. I can remember there was a time I was shocked that there was such a thing as jazz guitar., I was also surprised to discover there was classical guitar, I guess I was brought up thinking that guitars were for folk and rock and cowboys.

How do they come up with the titles for jazz instrumentals? There are some classical titles too but most pieces are titles things like "Prelude and Fugue in D minor," Not that I remember any of the titles of course.

The show finished with Honor's "Internet Junkie." When she finished Fred Said, "How come I never realized it should be performed with a jazz band?"

After the show Honor had to wait for Carl to drive somebody home then come back and pick her up while Catherine and Jay did their best imitation of me trying to make a quick getaway, in other words staying and talking. We were having far to good a time discussing musicals to break it up. Honor sang one of the songs from "West Side Story" and what amazed me is that she knew all the lyrics. Sondheim writes a lot of words. I used to know all of "Officer Krupke" but that's gone now. The singers started inserting "chocolate fountain" into songs. See I wasn't the only one impressed by it. I am the one that decided they should write a musical titled "Chocolate Fountain." That's my contribution, telling the talented people they should do something. Hey that's how Walt Disney built an empire.

I did something I'm not sure if I've done before this morning. I fell asleep in the middle of writing. I now write on my laptop in bed so that's not so hard to do. I'm lucky that I didn't roll over and drop the laptop on to the floor. I've been tired a lot lately. I don't know what that's about. I find myself fighting sleep most evenings somewhere between eight and ten. My mind and body are puzzles I'm always trying to solve.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 24, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!