I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 08, 2003 - 2:29 a.m.

To All My Friends In Far Flung Places

I haven't updated for a few days. That often means that I haven't been doing anything. This time it means I've been too busy to update.

Thursday was the big day. I was finally going to see Carey for the first time in three months. We weren't going to have to have lots of time so I had to plan things out carefully. She wanted to be at the airport by 2:30 and I don't get out of class till 10:50 so I didn't want to first take the LIRR home then drive to jersey. I wouldn't have been there before one if I did that. Instead I drove to school and ended class early. If things worked out perfectly I could be there by eleven. Since when do things work out perfectly though?

I wake up on Thursday morning to find that there is freezing rain. The radio said it was going to turn to snow. So the one time I drive to school it has to be in bad weather. I left myself an hour and a half to get there and just made it on time. As the snow worsened I saw there was a bright side. If it were bad enough Carey's flight might get cancelled and she could see Rod Picott with me that evening then stay at my house and go home today. When I apologized for letting the class out twenty minutes early nobody seemed very upset. It even sounded like there was a cheer. I guess they are just very good at hiding their disappointment.

It was slow going but I found my way to Carey's uncle's condo easily. When Carey opened the door I gave her a hug worthy of ending a three month hiatus. I then went in and said hello to her parents and her brother. We then went for breakfast at the local dinner. Somehow neither one of us made a sausage remark even though I had them with my waffle.

We decided it was best to go straight to the airport with conditions as they were. On the way there Carey mentioned that she hoped the flight was cancelled so she could stay the extra day with me. We both thought positive thoughts and were heartened when we heard the flight was delayed.

When we got there the flight wasn't cancelled but we decided to ask if she could change the flight to Friday without a penalty and they said yes! That meant we'd have a whole day of fun in front of us.

We tried unsuccessfully to park near the venue in Hoboken where Rod was playing so we drove into the city to play there. We did our usual shopping for fun stuff and eating unhealthy food at fun restaurants. I actually found a Renaissance album I didn't own so I had to buy it.

After playing and eating we decided it was too cold to walk all across Hoboken from the PATH train so we drove back out to Jersey. There still wasn't any street parking so we parked in the neuro parking lot. It said "Laboratories and Testing' on the outside. We wondered what horrific experiments they were going to perform on my car.

Rod said hi to us as soon as he saw us; that always feels good. We are such babies. We found a choice place to sit on the love seat, front row center. Sometimes things go even better than I plan. The show was great. It was part of the Writer's Hang series. The other performer's were Scott Moore who runs the thing, Amy Speace, and Joe Rathbone. They all rocked. Amy reminded me of Carey. That was clinched when it came out that in High School she was in the Latin Club and the Band. Rod of course always rocks the Casbah. After the show he signed our CDs and once again said I was Good People. I guess it's official now.

We got back around 12:30 which doesn't sound that bad except that Carey's flight was at 8AM in the morning and from Newark Airport. We didn't really think when we changed the flight. I'm ten minutes from Laguardia and a long haul from Newark. That meant we had to leave my house at six. We actually did a pretty good job of not staying up all night talking. We both were sleep deprived at the time so that helped.

We made great time this morning and got to the airport with an hour to spare. The goodbye took as long as the ride. I didn't want to let go but I eventually did.

The ride home took as long as some trips to Baltimore. It actually took me nearly three hours to get home. Carey might have landed in Chicago before I got home.

As usual we had our usual adventures and as usual I don't remember them. Some highlights though were.

OO Daddy Wants your Bing-Bong baby Oo, the second greatest song ever written.

The greatest song ever written that neither one of us remember.

Discussing going to a hotel baby.

Ending everything we said with "baby."

I really should take notes so I can remember things. I don't though. So that's it for now ... baby.

PS. Diaryland was down when I went to post this entry. I've since remembered one other important lesson. I'm man enough to talk like a little girl.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 08, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!