I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-02-08 - 06:50:15

a goovie guest appearance

This is not going to be your usual Wise Madness entry. There will be no references to Cabell or Tolkien. There will be no 40-page treatises on thermodynamics, or elaborate metaphors about calculus. There *will*, however, be correctly spelled words, properly placed commas, *and* (if necessary) accurately quoted song lyrics. In case you haven't already figured out what's going on, Gordon and I have switched diaries for the night to do guest entries for each other. So. Here I am. Hi. *waves*

After all that, now, I have no idea what to say. I guess I *could* talk about Gordon for a little while, seeing as how it *is* his diary and all. Alrighty. Gordon is a lunatic. He sings and dances and makes lots of noise, he's more than willing to make a fool of himself in public at the slightest provocation, he has to rely on me to remind him of people's names and faces and locations and even whether or not he likes them, and every time you invite him to your house, you can be sure that something's gonna get broken or otherwise destroyed. So why on God's green earth is he one of my very best friends and one of my absolute favorite people in the universe?

That's probably a good question to ask. I mean, how do a quiet English major in Maryland and a self-described "loud and obnoxious" NYC math nerd twice her age meet to begin with, let alone become friends? As usual, to find the answer, you need only to look to FHDC. Back to the glory days when the wall community was first starting to form, when Shelly wall was going strong. Gordon and I first got to know each other as members of Shelly's "court": to him, I was just one of the two resident Fostorians; to me, he was just that old-school Fruhead guy. Then we started talking in the makeshift AOL Shellywall, and then we started IM'ing, and before I knew it, we were talking for hours every day. At first it was the usual getting-to-know-you small talk. But by the end of our first week of IMs, we had started walling with one another. And quickly I realized that he wasn't just another random cool Fruhead guy -- he was someone who had the potential to become a lifelong friend. And I think that's definitely turned out to be the case.

I could go on and on here about how wonderful, fun, and insane it is to have Gordon as a friend. I could talk about crazy stuff, like our first meeting at the Newark Airport when I was leaving for Ireland, or his driving all the way down to Baltimore on a Sunday afternoon to see me in my last choir concert and then take me to the Allentown Fruvous show, or the contents of the insane Care packages he brings me every time we get together. I could tell you about the amazing conversations we have, how he seems to have an unlimited supply of interesting little facts and stories to share, and books and musicians and movies to recommend. I could ramble on and on with silly stories about things like the Batnose Brigade, or our concept of God, or Oliver's Army, or "Once I was the king of [clap]."

Or, if you like, I could tell you about all the times he's been there for me to listen and send support and hugs, no matter what, and I could describe all-night walling sessions about ex-housemates or the job search or my parents or romantic problems or *anything* under the sun. I could go on and on about how amazingly supportive he's been of me and Neal from the very start -- something neither Neal nor I are sure we could've done in his position. I could quote the poems and letters he's written, or things he's said to me in person; I could talk about how amazing it is to have someone who tells me every day what a beautiful, talented, special, and loved person I am -- and who, sometimes, actually makes me believe it.

I could tell you all these things and much, much more. But I think in some ways, it might be hard for a lot of people to believe. As I said, we make a pretty unconventional, unlikely pairing, and some people just might not understand what on earth I see in that weirdo old dude, or, for that matter, what he sees in that goofy little redheaded girl. But you know, life has a way of exploding your head sometimes, and surprising you with wonderful gifts in places you might never ever think to search.

In my favorite VU song, "I'll Be Your Mirror," Nico sings about being able to show someone their true reflection and what a beautiful person they really are. Thank you, Gordon, for being my wonderful batnose mirror. As you tell me every day (tho I'm too tired right now to add the fancy fonts and colors), I love you. :)


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-02-08
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!