I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 18, 2012 - 11:14 a.m.

Carey On

I'm starting this an hour late but at least I'm starting it in the morning. This is what I'm supposed to do on days I'm not teaching, write in the morning before I teach.

After updating yesterday I walked home, almost exactly 2 miles. That twenty blocks to a mile thing really works. I checked it with Google Maps. I'm going to try and do that walk as much as possible. I need the exercise. I made a few stops along the way shopping. I wanted to pick things up for breakfast today, either Taylor Ham or bacon. I couldn't find the ham and the bacon was expensive. Am I going to have to go to Brooklyn for cheap bacon and Taylor ham? It's like going to Jersey for cheap gas and Taylor ham.

I somehow took so much time that I didn't get to spend much time at home. I had about 20 minutes before I had to leave for The Living Room. I figured it would only take 15 minutes or so. That's all it took me from Brooklyn. It took me twice that long. I could have walked it in a little over 40 minutes.

When I got there Carey was waiting for me. That's bad Carey not good Carey. I haven't seen or talked to him in months because of my anxiety issues. I was feeling good the other day and worked up the energy to call him and invite him to go with me. We were there to see the remarkable Ariana Gillis. I knew he'd like her. When we walked in and before we sat down the waitress came over to talk to me. Why? It was Lauraly; she just started working there. Then when I went to sit at my usual table who was there but Howard. I had introduced him to Ariana. I knew he'd love her too. We ended up sitting at the next table the one I think of as John Platt's.

the CMJ music marathon was going on but it wasn't clear if this was part of it. Not that it matters to me. I will go see Ariana any time any place. Have I mentioned that you'll love her too. Twenty one year old women that look like they are 16 shouldn't be able to write with such depth. She has the performance down too. She can sing.

How did I not notice before that her father, David, plays slide banjo? Or did I notice and have forgotten? It isn't easy not having a brain. The only person I know that plays slide banjo is Andrew Vladeck. Andrew and David are both tres cool. Are you cool enough to play slide banjo? You should find out.

Ariana lives in Niagara Falls but has been playing here every month. She does a lot of traveling. She came down just to do the one 45 minute set. I'm glad she did. She'll be back next month on the seventh the day before NERFA. Then she'll be doing a formal showcase at the conference. You need to catch her at one or the other.

I didn't get any pictures but Howard did.


After the show Ariana had to rush to clear off the stage for the next band so I made a quick hello/goodbye then Carey and I went for dinner at the Crepe place down the block. I usually go there for desert not my main course. I had a second breakfast, ham, cheese, and egg. Then Carey and I walked to the subway. I really needed the Hogwarts Express aka the E or C train but I took the F train so I could ride a few stops with Carey. I then walked over from sixth avenue.

When I got home mini-Hagrid wasn't home and I had the place to myself. I watched the end of Phineas and Ferb: Across the Second Dimension. It is amazing how good that is. Yes my favorite TV show is a cartoon on the Disney Channel. Want to make something of it?

Later I watched The Daily Show for the first time in ages. I can live without TV with no problem but that doesn't mean I don't enjoy it.

With everyone going on I kept putting off arranging for NERFA and now the rooms are all booked. Anyone have space in their room? Yes I'm still having anxiety issues. I'm not over it by a long shot.

I wanted to write something about myself today. The problem is that I forgot what it was. I know it was something positive, something I like about myself. Being an idiot is not one of the things I like about myself. I'm not expecting to do anything exciting today so I'll just save it for tomorrow, that is if I remember what it is.

Now I'm going to make breakfast. If I have all the fixings I'll make an omelet. I haven't decided what kind, either andouille sausage, or Canadian bacon, or peanut butter. If I can't find a whisk I'll have poached eggs. I should have picked up rolls of some sort in any event. Now I'll just have to have toast with it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 18, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!