I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 27, 2017 - 11:21 a.m.

The Caper

I might have some time pressure. I don't have to be in the City until 3 PM but it's a beautiful day on Memorial Day weekend and getting on and off City Island is not going to be easy. The traffic backs up for miles and the buses come when they come. Coming home is going to be worse. Maybe I'll just walk from the subway. It's 3.3 miles and there's a good chance that I can walk it before a bus even comes.

Who knows what I do every Friday? The answer is go to therapy. It was a beautiful day and I had forgotten to recharge my MetroCard so I walked from the Harrison train station to the hospital and of course walked back. My therapist's next patient called to say she was struck in traffic and would be late. Instead of using the time to take a break Connie gave me an extra 15 minutes. I told you she enjoys my sessions. Who else can she discuss Buffy the Vampire Slayer with. I love that I can talk about specific episodes and she knows what I'm talking about.

I had a full day planned after that, stopping at my PO box, Trader Joe's, and at least one, maybe two concerts depending on how the timing worked out. Unfortunately, the train was late so I couldn't stop at the PO Box. That's not a big deal. I'll go on Tuesday. I save $4 if I take the MetroNorth to Fordham Rd instead of going all the way to Manhattan so that's what I do if I have time. I was getting hungry by the time I got to the Bronx and found two bargain snacks on the walk from the MetroNorth station to the subway. Checkers has a sale, large seasoned fries for a buck. I couldn't resist that. People argue over which fries are better MacDonald's or Burger King but Checkers is better than both. It's the only thing better there. I had fries. Then there was a guy on the street selling churros two for a dollar. Churros are among my favorite street foods. They often sell them on the subway three for two dollars.

I got on the subway and headed south. I read the Times on my phone. Out of nowhere I got overwhelmed with sleepiness. There went my plans for the day. I went to Trader Joe's and headed straight home from there. I wasn't happy missing Kate Copeland, Jeremy Aarons at the first show or Banjo Nickaru at the second but I eyelids were drooping. When I got home I was going to make so cheddar brats for dinner but Bernie was making his and Jane's dinner. I went to my room, started to do something online and fell asleep. I don't know why I was so tired. I must have not had a good night's sleep. I woke up from that and had a very late dinner.

This morning I had my first extended plot dream in a while. I often remember dreams, at least immediately on waking, but they are usually just one scene long. This one was a caper with intrigue. We were running from the cops. The plan was to mail the money out but the mail got returned because the address was wrong. The guy who mailed it found a clever way to distribute it. At the end, I was at a party with my envelope still unopened. We're talking a big 8 by 11 enveloped filled with cash. And I woke up as I was about to open it. No payoff. That wasn't fair.

Today's idiot story. I was planning on seeing Gina Forsythe at Rockwood this afternoon. I'm doing the merch. I have never seen her do a full set and was looking forward to it. I checked my calendar. She's playing next week. I'm an idiot. Instead I'm seeing a show I just found out about, the Lower East Side Festival at the Theater for the New City which is not on the Lower East Side but the East Village, a few blocks from where the Kennedys live. They are playing. I'm seeing them tomorrow at the Warwick Winery too. It's been way too long since I had a double dose of Kennedys.

I was going to write about something very dark but it would be too jarring what I've already written and the point of what I was going to write is that nobody, including me, has anything understanding of what happened, people fool themselves into thinking they do; it makes it easier to accept things. Much of what passes for analysis and insight are Just So Stories as valid as rainbows being Bifrost the bridge to Asgard or a sign from god that he won't send another flood. People don't want to understand things, they want to think they understand things.

There that is half the gist of what I wanted to say. Not too bad and I didn't break the mood. It's a beautiful day and a holiday weekend; enjoy yourselves. That's my plan. It all starts with bacon and eggs.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 27, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!