I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 23, 2013 - 11:29 a.m.

Get My Irish Up

I like to start writing before nine, At least it's before ten � by two minutes. I am so good at wasting time. I have my early morning curmudgeon duties on the WfUV Question of the Day group.

I keep forgetting to write about a major tragedy. I lost my Perry the Platypus water bottle! They ran out at the store. I'm now checking every place that sells that sort of thing for a replacement. I can't be satisfied by just any water bottle now. What did I say when I saw it was missing? You got it. "Where's Perry." But I'm afraid I won't say, "Oh there you are." But maybe, just maybe, Agent P is on a mission and will return. No that's just silly. This is just a water bottle. It has a picture of Perry the Platypus but it is not a real platypus. It can't be a spy.

I had an actual phone conversation yesterday. Odd that it is now a rarity. I talked to Bad Carey. Not many people could follow our conversation. We have a lot of private language. I think the only one that I might have more private language with is Good Carey. Do you have private language with your friends or is that just another aspect to the madness? There is even a name for that, neologism. It can be perfectly benign, even useful but it is also a symptom of some disorders. I'd have lost your with the first word out of my mouth, "apipoula�," Anybody know what it means or where it is from?

Last night I had a another music/food daily double. I went to see Caitlin Mahoney at Ceol, as you might guess it's an Irish Pub.

I didn't know about the show till yesterday. I saw it, checked online where Ceol is, Boerum Hill, Then went to put it in my calendar. When I opened the calendar I was reminded that Ariana Gillis was playing at the The Living Room tonight. Carey likes her which is why I called him. We talked for quite some time. When we were done I remembered that I wanted to see a musician I loved at an Irish pub but forgot the musician and the name of the pub. I found out about the show on my Facebook newsfeed but that's unweildly and I'm not sure it always chooses to show the same posts. So what could I do? I went through my browser history. Sometimes I'm smart. I found Ceol. The thing is their stupid website not only has autoplay but doesn't list the musicians playing. It just tells you, "Live Music." But I remembered who it was anyway because it struck me that Caitlin Mahoney is about as Irish name as it's possible to have and she's playing at an Irish Pub but she doesn't play Irish music.

Instead of following the travel directions of Google Maps I charted my own course there. My plan was to take the to Atlantic Terminal then walk a few blocks to the . The Bergen St stop is right by the pub. When I got off the it was such a beautiful day that I decided to walk. I had the time. I stopped at a couple of places along the way to look for a Perry the Platypus water bottle to no avail.

Even though I was only 13 minutes early I beat Caitlin there. Niall Connolly was setting up. He runs the event, featured musicians followed by an invitation only open mic, a half-open mic? Caitlin was featured. In the small word department I just missed Niall on Friday at the Museum of American Folk Art. He was a last minute replacement for someone whose car had broken down. He is on their compilation CD.

I got the best seat in the house. I was told my table had the most comfortable chairs. A few minutes later Caitlin and Kat Quinn walked in. Funny thing I saw both of them multiple times in December and January but haven't seen either since March till I saw them on Sunday. Now here I was seeing them again three days later. Sunday was Kat's gig. They back each other up at most shows. This made it even better as Kat sat with me on the songs she wasn't singing so now I had music, pub food, and a friend. My idea of the good life. OK who knows what I order at a pub? Don't all raise your hand at once. My vegan friends are already wincing. Yes it's bangers and mash. I didn't even ask for a menu. The waitress was not only charming but she looked like she should be Caitlin's sister.

I loved everything about the venue but the lighting. A strange thi8ng to complain about but you'd notice it too. At least from my seat there was a light behind the performer and over her head. There was no spotlight on her face. That means all you can see is a silhouette. That night not be so bad when Niall played but Caitlin is beautiful; I want to see her face.

She had a song I wanted to talk about but my brain has been wiped clean and I have no idea how it went or what I wanted to say about it. It was good things too. I do remember what I wanted to say about their harmonies. I love the way they back each other up. I don't know how much is based on theory and how much just comes naturally but harmony singer doesn't just double the lead on 3 or 5. She might do that for a stretch but then break into something new. They play with how the harmony I synched with it often getting ahead or falling behind the lead. It holds my interest. I wish I could remember the song. It was a new one that Kat doesn't know yet. Oh well, it's gone. Not unusual for me.

I was going to leave after Caitlin's set but I hadn�t gotten my check yet. The waitress was charming and helpful when I ordered but a bit behind afterward. I have a feeling she is stretched thin. It meant that I heard the two songs by the open mic guy that followed Caitlin. I was not impressed. I paid my check just as he was finished but as I was getting ready the next singer, Erin, who was in from London, started. She was so good that I sat through her second song too even though I wanted to head home.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 23, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!