I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 25, 2014 - 11:26 a.m.

Ice Cream and Caitlin

Time to start writing. I wish I could get myself to start earlier. Now I have new distractions, people actually want to talk to me in the morning. I am not complaining about that..

So what did I do yesterday? I am pretty sure I did things. I existed. I had mass thanks to the Higgs Boson. I took up space Oh right it's me so it involved chocolate and music.

So remember that I thought I was supposed to meet Heather after therapy for ice cream but I had the day wrong? Well that was yesterday. Even though she had an appointment between Avenue C and Avenue D we didn't go for ice cream at Sundaes and Cones at 3rd Avenue. She wanted the best and that means Cones on Bleecker Street near Seventh Avenue. We were real New Yorkers and walked the 1.7 miles. That's a fun walk. We went through Tompkins Square and Washington Square.

OK what flavor did I get? I only had one. You have to get it exactly right to get credit. It was not chocolate. It was dark chocolate! Their dark chocolate ice cream is simply the best ice cream in the world. I love their tiramisu and dulce de leche but you can't beat the dark chocolate. Heather got fancy and had cantaloupe and sweet potato brie. Yes foo foo ice cream. Good thing she's cute.

Heather headed home after that. Guess where I went. My Gentle Readers should know this. It's the obvious choice. Yes you got it, Rockwood Music Hall. I was there to see the calmly and consonant Caitlin Mahoney. I gave Caitlin a hard time because on the Facebook even she said it was a solo show and that she'd be joined by Kat Quinn and Jo Kroger. "Solo? I think that word doesn't mean what you think it means." But she was right. Most of the set she was solo and was joined by Kat and Jo on a few songs.

I got there early and was actually happy that the act before her canceled. I didn't have to fight a crowd and could get a seat and relax before her set. I was disappointed I didn't get one of the waitresses I'm friendly with there. There are benefits to being a regular. I don't get bigger drinks or anything, I just get to see someone that smiles when she sees me. That's better than a larger drink.

It seems like Caitlin just got back and now she's going off again, first to the Midwest then to Europe. Yes I know international stars. Make that intercontinental. Kat and jo were there to amortize the practice needed for the three of them to play a wedding and learn many many new songs. Most of their own songs are not exactly happy love songs. They can make me clap along to "Happy" now that's talent. Normally I'd be retching

Jo arrived a bit late and sat down next to me. She had on some kind of magic glamour so she looked like a different person. I didn't realize it was her till she got up and transformed into Jo. After the show she said gave me a hug and said that she owed it to me. It took me a minute to realize what she was talking about. Last time I saw them I wrote here that I didn't talk to or get a hug from Jo after the show. See making jokes about not getting hugs got me a hugs. You really shouldn't encourage me.


Caitlin always reminds me of a young Linda Ronstadt

Usually I have trouble remembering my thoughts just as I do my dreams. But I had one yesterday that I remember exactly where I was, crossing Allen street on the way to the subway station. I have a told a few people about a female friend of mine that is involved with two women with the same name. This point was that it causes considerable confusion when talking about them and that makes it funny. What struck me is that not one person I talked to thought twice about it being a woman romantically involved with other women. Now that's progress. Equality comes not when discrimination ends but when people stop even noticing


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 25, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!