I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 31, 2015 - 12:13 p.m.

Breakfast of Champions

Last night I accidentally unplugged my laptop. It was on my bed when I turned the lights off and moved it in the dark. For most people that wouldn't be a problem, for my computer it is. If it is left off or on but the lid down and not plugged in it does not want to turn on again,. Even when it's then plugged in. I have learned to just be patient. If I plug it in and wait a while, between 5 and 15 minutes I'll see the charging light come on and that means I can then turn it on. Nobody has come up with a good explanation for this.

OK now for talking about me. I did not have an exciting day. I went to Heather's and watched TV. I forgot that I was trying to watch The Flash. Does anyone else watch that? Why do I end up liking different shows than my friends? Of course I also started catching up on the new Doctor Who. I'm on Matt Smith's first season. I just got an email that Amazon Prime is going to stop carrying it. I have to catch up. Not sure why? Perhaps as it is something I can share with friends that I sort of like. I just have to get used to wanting to throw things at the screen when it gets too stupid. So this is what I realized yesterday. Doug Adams was the script editor for the old show. He wrote some of the best episodes. Can you see that happening now? It taking his silly outlook on life? The Hitchhiker's guide is very Doctor Who, the old series, but not the new. But I am getting used to the new series again. I watched it religiously at first. I needed the time off. I need to accept it's a different show than the old one just as each Doctor is different than the previous

I was going to get all serious and get everyone mad but changed my mind. I'm not going to try and save the world today. That's the Doctor's job. OK it's not it's all our jobs and I do want to change how people think but when I'm feeling driven it's the worst time for me to write about it. I'll just come off as strident and convince nobody. So instead I'll write about breakfast.

Not today's breakfast. Not yesterday's breakfast. But this was inspired by my forgetting to write about my breakfast from two days ago. I tried something for the first time. I made grits in one pot and poached eggs in another. It's what I did then that I is worth writing about. I put the grits in a bowl then chopped up some Taylor ham and shredded dark cheddar cheese. I then put the eggs on top, and broke the yolks and mixed it all together. It was sort of a breakfast stew. It was wonderful. I have never heard of anyone doing that? But I live in the north and my friends don't make grits at home. It seems like such a natural thing to do.

Making that revitalized my fantasy of opening a restaurant, Breakfast Any Time. It would serve nothing but breakfast any time of day. Not thinking of it as a 24 hour place, not a Waffle House, but a nice restaurant in Midtown Manhattan that can later be franchised. It would serve for the most part the stuff I make for breakfast, especially my specialties, things you don't often see. But as I want my friends to eat there too I'd ask my vegan friends to suggest vegan breakfasts. One thing I know would be on the menu are Berubecakes. That's Mark Berube's pancakes. I love them. He banana in then instead of the egg!

So what else would be on the menu.

True Grits: My tentative name for the dish described above.

Matzoh Brei to Make Your Bubbe Cry: traditional matzoh brei with your choice of diced Taylor ham, bacon, scrapple, or sausage mixed in.

French Toast ala Horvendile: Challah French toast cooked in bacon fat Spell check is anti-Semitic. Challah isn’t in the dictionary.

Peanut Butter and Bacon Sandwich

Peanut Butter and Sausage Sandwich

Peanut Butter, Chocolate Syrup, and Rice Crispies Sandwich

Peanut Butter Omelet

Rice Crispies ala Horvendile: Rice Crispies served in a cup of hot chocolate

Eggs Benny and the Jets: A slice of Taylor Ham topped by an English Muffin, with a poached egg and topped by a slice of American cheese. Scrapple can be substituted for ham on request.

Cocoa Lavinator: My world famous French toast bread pudding with chocolate chips.

Of course more standard fare, bacon and eggs, and breakfast sandwiches will also be available. There will be all kinds of omelets but made my way, which I have not seen anyone else use. They come out quite differently. There's almost a skin on the bottom and the egg is gelatinous on the top. Then you fold it with the toppings inside. Only high quality bagels and real maple syrup will be served. As so much will be cooked in bacon fat, we might not make enough ourselves. Can you buy bacon fat? So are you hungry yet? Can't wait to eat there after your evening at the theater? You better make your reservations now.

What am I going to make today? I was planning on pancakes but it's after noon now and don't want to wait that long. Maybe an omelet.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 31, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!