I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 01, 2017 - 10:40 a.m.

Breadology

This is a rarity, I'm starting to write before the WFUV is finished. Another rarity, one of my suggestions was played. The question was song about December, my song was December by Norah Jones. Is this cause and effect? Two rare things happened the same morning. It must be. If you believe that I have a fake cure to sell you. It's not how things work.

Yesterday's adventure was to head up to Harrison and not for therapy. I took part in a market research study. Jane was sent an email inviting her, but she didn't qualify, I did. It was demographics. It wasn't a focus group but a taste test. I don't think I've done one of these before. The subject was prepackaged Italian bread. Ten of us were taken to a room with computers. First, we looked at six loaves of bread. We also squeezed them, the tests you would do if shopping in a store. Then we rated the bread on appearance and feel.

Next, we went back to our cubicles with the computers. We'd flip a switch and a little door would open in the back and somebody gave us two slices of bread on a tray. I had to take a few bites and judge the taste, then take another bite and judge the texture. Then make judgements. I wish there were a choice of "I have no idea." We rated things on a scale of 0 to 100. How do I judge how healthy it looks or tastes? Things don't look or taste healthy.

The best part is that I made the interviewer laugh out loud. We were given six slices of bread, two at a time. I pointed out to the interviewer that during wine tastings they give you a piece of bread between glasses. I said that they should give us a glass of wine between slices of bread. Like Dracula, I never drink wine; but she didn't know that. I had to make do with water between slices.

I was paid with a debit card. Does anyone know if there's a way for me to transfer that money to my bank account? I can just use it to buy things but there will be something left over at the end.

Today is December 1 but that didn't stop WFUV from starting their best of 2017 poll yesterday; you can vote here. I have been keeping a spreadsheet all year, but of course I forgot to put albums on it. I looked on my computer for the albums released this year to add to the list. When my hard drive died I lost some of my music. I should have kept it all in the cloud, but I didn't. I knew my top two for sure and I picked a likely choice for my third. The real list is the one I publish here. I'm being conscientious this year, I'm going to listen again to all the nominees. I was one of the last one done in the bread study because I took it seriously. I can't do less for my top album choices. I'm sure whoever I chose will put it in their press kits. It might even get on the album packaging in second run; "Winner Wise Madness Top Albums of 2017!" I will have to go through my physical CDs to find what's missing. My music collection has taken multiple hits. That gives me anxiety as I worry that I won't find everything; some will be lost forever. I can look at it as a chance to organize my CD. I enjoy organizing things.

I had an exceptional dinner, pan grilled blackened garlic chicken and plantains fried in bacon fat. That's a trick I learned from Emily. I used to just save the fat for cooking eggs, now I use it that night if I'm frying anything. Few things add flavor like bacon fat. I have also used it to flavor soup, I learned that from Jack Kerouac. I believe it's in The Dharma Bums but it could be On the Road. I also got a cooking tip from Law & Order.

I'm taking too long to write this. All that talk of food made me hungry. I have therapy and a psychiatrist appointment today. The psychiatrist called to see if I could make it earlier. I couldn't. I would have to have left eight minutes ago and I'd have to wait around the hospital for an hour and forty-five minutes waiting for my therapy. I'm working at not letting myself feel guilty about not doing it. Now for sausageeggandcheese on waffles.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 01, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!