I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 30, 2014 - 10:57 a.m.

Brain to Blog

Welcome to my last day before Falcon Ridge edition of Wise Madness. This is also a riddled with anxiety edition but we'll try and not talk about that.

I reached the limit of my procrastination and yesterday I had to go to my storage to get my camping gear I of course waited till far too late in the day to start. I had to make one stop first, to pick up my new glasses! I can see now. But only in the distance. I still don't have progressives. So I have to take them off to read. I use my old distance glasses as reading glasses now It is so nice being able to see.

Then I took the to the LIRR to Jamaica where I got a cab. I should have just taken the to a bus but I was worried about time as I started so late. I needed to go there to get my camping gear and my white suit that I'm wearing to Max and Caila's wedding. I was happy I could find that stuff up front. I also picked up some summer clothing now that summer is half over. I have a lot of laundry to do now.

Then I had to find a way home with a ton of stuff. That meant taking a cab which I knew would cost a fortune. I tried Uber. It said it would take 11 minutes to get picked up. A half an hour later no cab .The driver didn't answer when I called and didn't return my messages. I used Uber again. This time the car came in a few minutes. It was a different driver. We packed everything into his car and were off to Brooklyn, an 11-mile trip.

I talked to Katrina during the ride. We only made it to the Grand Central Parkway still in Jamaica when the driver pulled over. He had accidentally stopped the meter. It's an app on his phone. I said, OK just do what you have to do and drive me home. he didn't start driving. Instead he started to explain to me again that he accidentally stopped the meter. I said fine, start it up and take me home. He then again explained to me that he stopped the meter. I had no idea what he was getting at. It turns out that I had to use the ap again to call a car and that as he's the closest one it would be him. He apparently assumed I knew all about this and that nobody thought of adding something in the app to restart the meter when it stops by accident.. I then said it would cost more for two trips as there is an initial fee and he said he'd reimburse me in cash. Everything is done by credit card on Uber. I said, fine, just get me home. I was prepared to pay $50 maybe more for the trip. All these problems actually had a happy ending. The meter stopped again on the way home and I was charged only $8 for the second leg. The entire trip was $20. The driver was not happy. He dumped my stuff in the street and drove off.

I brought everything to my room then raced to bring my suit to the dry cleaner. They promised they'd have it ready by today. Whew on that. Then I went to Marshall's to buy a dress shirt and a tie. I just realized I have a shirt I could have worn. I needed a tie. I will look snazzy.

The one big glitch is that I was done so late I could not see Mya at Rockwood. It was her debut as Mya Byrne. I texted her as I was waiting for the cab to let her know I'd miss it. I hope you made it.

I now have plenty of summer gear that I need to wash. It's laundry day. It' also packing day. it's also panic day but we are not going there.

So let's go to writing instead. When I was on one of the trains I heard a young woman say "I just wrote down what I wanted to say and handed it in." She was talking about writing a paper for school. My reaction was, "What else can you do?" Isn't that what writing a paper is? But from seeing what students actually write I think it isn't. I think students too often write to impress, they wrongly thing that's better. Yes you need to fit an academic style but that's just a way of thinking. If I had a computer back when I was in school I might have loved writing papers as the physical process was always the difficult part. Look how much I write now.. And you know what I do? I just write down when I'm thinking. What you read here is closer to my thoughts than when I speak. There I can't depend on you to be able to look up words you don't know or to take the time to puzzle out meaning. You have to be able to get it in real time. Yes I do change things from my thoughts a bit. I fill in details that you don't know but I do. I sometimes explain things that I don�t need explained. But sometimes I don't explain them and hope you figure things out. When I go back and read old entries that seems to work. I often write impressionistically because I'm thinking impressionistically. Right not I'm doing total stream of consciousness. This is what the inside of my brain looks like. And you know something, as I write this I don't feel anxious. I'm in the moment. Maybe I should just write all my waking hours. But then what would I write about?

Today I am writing my blog. I'm writing about writing a blog. Actually I'm writing about writing about writing a blog. I can go on like this forever. OK I can't. I have fun out of things to say in real time about my writing. I might have to make this sample paragraph of what my blog would look like if all I did was blog short. But I think you get the idea.
That kind of thing amuses me so much. I hope My Gentle Readers do.

Now on to breakfast. I forgot to buy Taylor ham. I think I'll go for an omelet. I have some andouille sausages out. I'll cook one up and put it in the omelet. Nah, I'll be lazy and use ham.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 30, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!