I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 27, 2014 - 7:42 a.m.

Bobtown In the JC

I got up early so I can write a very quick edition of Wise Madness so My Gentle Readers won't go mad. OK it's so that I don't go mad. I will skip a day, not much happened on Wednesday. I was write about Thursday hitting all the essentials. But skipping the photos I took.

The reason I had to not write yesterday is that I went to Heather's to help her paint her room. I also made her brunch, matzoh brie to make your bubbe cry. That means it has Taylor ham mixed in with it.

Food mentioned, check.

After spending the afternoon with Heather I headed off out west past the edge of civilization to the barbarian land of Jersey City. I know you're frightened so I'll let you know I came back unharmed. Other brave souls have been there before me I could actually take public transportation, the to the PATH train.

Commute mentioned, check

I was there for the inaugural Spiral Sounds House Concert featuring my girls, Bobtown. Sorry Alan and Fred, you are in Bobtown and therefore my girls. Last Friday I saw my other girls Red Molly. That's my version of roots music, my roots.

As I was in a savage land, barbarian was too kind, I didn't know a lot of people there other than the band and the hosts, Gidge and Louise. Not actually sure of Louise's name. But I did have two friends there, Laura and Scott. Scott was even willing to sit with me up front.

And I met someone that I only sort of know, Joe. He's a DJ at Montclair State's radio station, I'm in a rush so I can't find the call letters, and a friend of many of my friends. Once I met him in person I realized I have seen him before, he's been to the Budgiedome. But now I know who he is. I sat with him too.

Bobtown has been working on a new CD so I haven't been seeing them much and needed a fix they did four songs off the upcoming CD, two of which I had never heard before. They were quite different, far more introspective. I loved them. And of course they have a kickstarter. Go to A History of Ghosts and become a patron of the arts.

Music check.

OK I hit the required points of a blog. Does not charging my emergency charger count as an idiot story? I gave it a partial charge at Heather's but it didn't last the night. I then forgot to charge it when I got home last night.

Oh getting home I went with Fred and Jen from the band and two guests I didn't know. One rode the train with me and Fred, She has a name. Heather! I remembered it. Of course that's because she was my second Heather of the day. Heather is becoming the new Kat/Katherine. My large number of female friends share a small supply of names.

OK I have to pledge my money and catch a train. I'm playing bridge with Roy out on the island today.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 27, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!