I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 30, 2017 - 10:47 a.m.

Fantastic Bloggers And Where To Find Them

The weather was miserable yesterday and I saw no reason to leave the house. Next time I know that is going to happen I should keep track of how I spend my time. That might be an interesting blog. I started to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them; I made it 4:22 seconds into it. I didn't give up then, I got distracted and never got back to it. I don't know when I'll have time to watch it now. I did spend a lot of time listening to Charlie Parker; it was his birthday. How did I go through most of my life not appreciating him? He is one of those artists that god speaks through. I hope you know what I mean; I wish I had a better way of describing it. It's impressive as god doesn't exist.

If I'm home all day, cooking will come into Wise Madness. I decided to make my favorite dinner, one that requires preparation; Sweet garlic chicken with garlic parmesan crash potatoes. The chicken is topped with a sauce of olive oil, garlic, and brown sugar. After sautéing the garlic, I discovered I was out of brown sugar. I had to improvise. I enjoy improvising, it's like jazz, it's like Charlie Parker. I did a simple substitution, honey for brown sugar. I could have used a bit more honey but it came out great. The potatoes are topped with a mixture of minced garlic and parmesan cheese. I made too much so I put the rest on top of the chicken. There are no mistakes; only happy accidents.

It was a day of sensual pleasures. When times are bad pleasures are more important, not less. Anyone that can move us emotionally, make us laugh, or delight out palette is doing a public service.

I managed to do a few scary things. I got an official email from the State of New York Court System that said;

OFFICIAL BUSINESS-OPEN IMMEDIATELY

I waited only one day to open it, for me that's good. It was just a juror questionnaire. I had been sent one before and didn't fill it out. This letter said I could do it online, so I did. Someone's fate might be in my hands. If it didn't take over an hour to get to the courthouse I wouldn't mind serving. I take civic duty seriously.

I read a scary email that shouldn't have been scary at all. It wasn't scary at all. I was still reluctant to read it. That meant I missed an email that I should have read earlier. YouTube said that a video I posted of Robison & Rohe violated the terms of service. I sent a link of the video to Jean for her approval to make it public and her response is how I found out about it. I was able to read Jean's email. There should be nothing less scary than reading an email from Jean but I've been known to have anxiety about it but not this time. I appealed the decision to YouTube. I figure it had to be a mistake. I checked again and Liam, Jean, Hannah, and Chris were all fully clothed.

Today I'm off to see Harpeth Rising and Honor Finnegan in Woodbridge NJ. Here's the information on the show, Woodbridge Wednesdays. Come join me. If you live on the other side of the tri-state area you can see Harpeth Rising in Ridgefield CT tomorrow. Both shows are free.

It's time for more sensual pleasure, breakfast. The menu has poached eggs with ham and cheese sauce aka poached eggs ala Horvendile.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 30, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!