I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 20, 2016 - 10:49 a.m.

Bev It Up

I'm still sleepy. I spoke to someone else taking hydroxyzine and she said she got over the sleepiness. Let's hope my body adjusts. I am quite disappointed that only one person acknowledged my joke where I called it the generic version of oreoyzine. That was my entire motivation for fighting the sleepiness to write.

I was going to go into the City yesterday to go to the bank and Trader Joe's but instead took a nap. This is so much not like me. I get lethargic sometimes when I'm depressed but this is not what's going on now. So instead I walked a few blocks to the one bank on City Island and used their ATM. I had to pay a fee as it's not my bank. I also bought milk and sausages. Guess what I did when I got back Yes, I took a nap. I got a phone call and was deep enough asleep that I thought it was my alarm waking me up in the morning. I wasn't in my bed but it took me a few moments to work things out.

I did go out to hear music last night. It was my shortest trip ever. Bev Grant played at the Starving Artist Cafe right here on City Island. It's about 5 blocks from here. I went with Jo and Dave who also live on City Island. I have wanted Jo to meet Bev forever. They have so much in common. They both lived in Oregon, love folk music, are around the same age, have the same politics, and are just about the two nicest people in the world.

Jo asked her friend Carol to join us and I asked Honor who also knows Jo and Bev. Honor came up with Bev and sang a few songs during both of Bev's sets. Sometimes things work out perfect.

Bev did some songs I hadn't heard before, starting right from the get go. She did a more auto-biographical set than usual; not that she neglected the political songs. I liked hearing that aspect of her. Honor did a new song, Somebody's Kid that is brand new, written in the last week. I had only heard it on Facebook. We joke that it's about Satan, the houseguest that was here last weekend that I had written about.

This was my first time in the Starving Artists since I've been on the Island. But I think I as there 30 years ago when Lori not LORi not Lori, a friend from college took Carey not Carey to City Island. The room looked familiar. I had the beef sliders. I know you are all concerned with my menu. I also had iced coffee and then vanished Honor's iced latte. I think that's how I made it through the night awake. It did not stop me from falling instantly asleep when I went to bed. In fact, I'm falling asleep right now.

I will be writing shorter editions of Wise Madness till I get over this. It's just too hard to concentrate long enough to write 1200 words now. Yet I did last night, the combination of music, friends, and caffeine did the trick. I love music friends, even more than caffeine.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 20, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!