I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 28, 2013 - 5:38 p.m.

Hey! Not the Beatles!

I'm starting this late. I've been spinning my wheels this morning. There was a long period where I was bouncing between sleep and wakefulness. That's a rather pleasant period.

I gave in to the inevitable today and transferred all my RSS subscriptions to Feedly. Google Reader will cease to exist on July 1. I don't think anyone actually subscribes to my RSS feed but if you do don�t forget to make the transfer.

I keep forgetting to write about my Fantasy Baseball team, The Nashional Batnoses. We are still tied for first place with the hated TSC. Why do we hate TSC? because they are not our beloved Batnoses, duh. The fact that I'm love the owners of TSC, Diana and Larry, is irrelevant to how I feel about the team. Hey I love Mariano Rivera but I hate the Yankees, as all good and moral people do. Today we reached a new high, 68 points; 26 hitting and 42 pitching. I built the team trying to get to 26 and 40 so we are right on target. I hoped to get more than that pitching but there are always unforeseen difficulties so I couldn't count on it. Who knew that Cy Young Award Winner Dickey would play hurt all season and have his ERA balloon to 4.72. Who thought that Yu Darvish playing for the heavy hitting Rangers would go winless the last month despite having a 2.78 ERA? But somehow we are still exceeding my expectations. Chris Tillman's 9 victories and 3.72 ERA for a $0.70 salary have a lot to do with it.

But more importantly they offer a nice respite from my problems. I feel stressed and I look to see how the Batnoses are doing. Drugs are not the only kind of medication.

Yesterday I was suburban guy. I never went to the City. What I did do was go swimming. I need code names for the people I'm staying with. It's Tom Bombadil and Goldberry. Goldberry and I went to her mother's house. The development has a pool! That did wonders for me. My anxiety was running high, not surprising, and the swim did a good job of lowering it. Too bad my shoulder is having problems. That makes doing the crawl difficult. I did a different stroke every lap to minimize the stress on any part of my body. I also spent time floating. I didn't do it yesterday but I can actually sleep floating on my back. I'm buoyant.

Tonight I'm going into Crown Heights to look at an apartment. If you know some place I can stay starting Monday please let me know, My anxiety is going through the roof writing about this.

I got to this point when Goldberry came home and I played with her. Now I'm in my office finishing this up.

We were in the car at noon and Goldberry turned on the radio because a radio station plays a Beatles block at noon every day. It struck me that the Beatles were blog fodder. Here's my earth shaking thought; the Beatles are underrated. Yes the band that is almost universally considered the greatest band of the rock era is even better than they are given credit for. Why? They transcend everything. Goldberry was born six years after they broke up and still makes sure to listen to the Beatles block when she can. They are the epitome of classic; they are not of their time but of all time.

You like pop tunes that make you feel good. Listen to the Beatles. You want serious songs with serious lyrics, listen to the Beatles. You want musical sophistication, Listen to the Beatles. You want to get everyone in a crowd to sing along, sing the Beatles. You want to connect with people all over the world, play the Beatles.

Sure they might not be your favorite band. They are not personal. They aren't your band. Well actually they might be. They are Darren's and he plays music for a living. But even if they aren't your band, you like them, you probably like them a lot, good chance you love them.

They are part of the glue of Western Civilization, perhaps just Civilization. Knowledge of the Beatles is just assumed. John, Paul, and George, are common names but put any two of them together and most people's minds will go to the Fab Four.

That's why they are underrated. They are more than the best band of the Rock Era, they are part of what makes us, us. They are like Shakespeare, Da Vinci, or Beethoven but with more mass appeal than any of them. What song are you looking forward to me playing now? You know I'm going to play one and you know you want to hear it.

There was no choice. They are In My Life.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 28, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!